Finally!!! Feeding the Spiders! Also, Story about the post office trip (MASS AMOUNTS OF SNOW)!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

As you are about to see, the spiders I have were indeed hungry, and they even FOUGHT EACH OTHER!!!

(Neither were harmed.)

Yes, that is right, I took pictures. I also took videos, and made a few gifs for your pleasure.

I hope you enjoy and they say it takes 3 times to really make sure you got it right, so here you have my 3rd 100% power up post.

Bob and Marley

The Brown Tarantulas I caught and saved from being frozen.

Thank you once again for being part of my steemit experience.

Bob Fights | Marley Feeds

... and Here you can see Marley Feeding

So, now that the good part is over, you can go ahead and click that upvote button. As this is a power up post, I don't plan on withdrawing anything soon, but if I ever draw anything from Steemit, I assure you it will go to help something grow, something or someone eat, or maybe even just a small treat, but if I do I promise to share, the treat with someone and the story everywhere. Steem on My friends!

Okay, now that no one is left I am sure, here is....

.... The rest of the story

(I typed that in Paul Harvey's Voice if anyone happens to know who he is.)

How I got to the post office.

Oh look, a beautiful day to go to the post office.....


(my front yard)

So there I was, standing at the doorway, looking through it, wondering why it had to snow over 1 foot and half the day before the package was to arrive. Oh well, time to get the shovel and put my boots on.

My poor, front wheel drive nissan altima is going to love this. Oh yea, I gave my chains to my ex, so this should be extra fun.

My Footprints in the fresh snow.

(Should totally go back and draw a Steemit Logo.)

I had been waiting for a few days, and it angered me because I realized the package the gentleman grabbed was the same package the previous 2 ladies had not grabbed even though I asked them if it said @timbo on it.... Ugh, furious. Alright, these people are actually good friends of mine to tell the truth as the past 10 years living in the mountains has really given me time to build some good relationships. The problem is, people get lazy at work when their friends come in. Ha, oh well.

Got him to give me all the other mail for the house too! Alright, I am on my way outta here. How I got there, I will never know, only by the grace of God did my tires hold any sort of traction.

Not to mention the tractor I passed, had it not been the guy who makes sure I have only a few inches instead of a few feet. I decided not to take his picture, although the red tractor, huge black earmuffs, and blue jean jacket was definitely something I wanted to share with everyone.

Home sweet home and the dog on the roof.

As I pulled up back into the driveway, the snow was so deep it was beginning to build up in front of my car. Seems like the tractor didn't get my drive way yet. (Aww to bad) There is a main road behind us, and probably over 20 houses back there, I don't know how far back he goes, but I know our house is usually the last one just because the other people count on him to get to work and what not. We also for the most part drive 4wheel drives. I sold mine when I moved away, oh boy now I am back and I sure missed it today!

Finally finished shoveling the walkway, and the driveway, and around the uncovered parking spaces so when mom comes home she doesn't slip and fall. Just as I finished, I put down the shovel, and noticed the can of salt on the sidewalk. PERFECT! I can salt where it is frozen and in a few hours it will be easy to walk on. A few more minutes and I was heading back inside package in hand.

Stepping inside and heading up the stairs I sat down in the office chair my mother is so graciously letting me use. It is one of those nice leather chairs with the padded leather tops. Oh man, even though it is ripped up and torn and the back is falling apart a little bit, it is like heaven compared to the chair I was using. Heck, even the desk I have is nothing more than a T.V. stand with a homemade plywood thing with padding and some type of odd material. The shelf from the t.v. stand doesn't fit on but it works I guess. Picking up the package now, I tear open the corner and take a peak inside. Ahhh @papa-pepper you even though to insulate the worms as you knew you were sending them into the cold. I feared with the delay from the weather they would freeze, but you my friend are a smart one.

Nice extra dinosaur bonus from the paper packaging!

popped the lid and most of them were still squirming. I counted 33 alive worms 3 dead and 2 uhh, I have no idea.

Here is one of the worms, cute little things aren't they? About to be spider food little things actually, it is almost sad when you get something like this, I was attached to it before I got it and now I have to well... you saw the video already.

.....but I could resist another look at it.

I dropped a few on the bark covering I have for them and within a few minutes they already were going after them, bob was the first one there but marley made it soon after, without either one of them attacking the worms yet, there was a stand off as you saw in the above clips.

How many worms can you find?

Will post answer somewhere in the post (hint: it is below this)

So there they spiders were enjoying their worms and I now had to set up a worm cage, or something of the sort. Guess I should start with a bucket... so I did.

....Answer is 5 worm in the picture above by the way

Gotta add a little food of course.

(Bowl of Stuff is milk and ceareal that I was preparing for them 3 days ago, they should love it in this state.)

Home sweet mealworm home?

A little dirt, and a lot of food, should be able to add more dirt and maybe some hay (if I can find some) to make a great cage for them. They are in the same temperature as my plants, and my spiders, so they should love the environment. I hope they get to growing!

Mealworms will bury their heads in a food source and stay there for an extended amount of time. Kinda like a cattipilar or locust nymph on leaves.

Do you see the little legs? These first ones, will have a very happy and healthy life. As they will be full grown and begin my breeding farm in.

Again, thank you for being here, thank you for making this steemit experience unlike any other experience I have had. I value the people here, the community, and the knowledge we all share, the biggest parts about this place is that the people who come here are people who make it a great place, take the good with the bad, and that is what I do, in life, in lesson, and in steemit.

Steemon my friends! Steem on!

This is ~Timbo signing off.....

Sort:  

Yeah man, it's great to see that they made it to you, and that the spiders liked them!

I was hoping that they would!

Operation Mealworm was a success!

Rodger that, Operation Mealword complete.

I've got the update post ready to go for the morning!

Awesome! I can hardly wait to check it out!

It's posted now! Check it out!!

Really interesting - thanks for this content. I will resteem it.

Hey no problem! Thank you so much for resteeming, it means a lot when people see my work and want to share it.

I appreciate your comment, your support, and your fellowship! Have an awesome day my friend!

the only thing i didn't see was a picture of two post meal tarantulas burping and rubbing their bellies. can you tell when they're full? it looks like tarantula thanksgiving.

thanks for the post.

Hey anytime! I am glad to have shared this experience.

Yes, when they are full, they will leave what they don't eat to roam around the cage. Just like people, these spiders can eat simply because they are bored so I removed the excess food after a few days. Usually, you can get used to how much they eat, and feel them according. I put 8 worms in their cage as they haven't eaten in several weeks, in a few days I will check to see if any survived, if they did. I may just put them back into the cage with the others I am breeding.

Haha, thanksgiving is awesome! Family, friends, and food!

Thanks again for stopping by!

yay, spiders are fed! here's the best smile i could find.


image: cdn3-www.webecoist.momtastic.com/assets/uploads/2010/01/Smiley_Spiders_8x.jpg

Wow! What is that? It looks like a real spider, but also looks like it is made from glass!

Amazing picture, thank you for sharing!

Excellent News.

So lucky to have so much snow and blue skies.

Ahh yes #coloradolife, although the temperature yesterday never got above 20. Even when I went to the post office, I was looking at 13 degrees F on the thermometer. It is currently 4 degrees F out right now... BRRRR.

I do appreciate the snow as it brings the water we all need. The Blue skies are amazing as well although now it looks like another snow storm brewing!

Thank you for your comment! I am glad you enjoyed the story!

Wow, those were def. hungry spiders! So glad about this outcome.

I was stoked! Yes, they were pretty hungry. I held Marley today, he was very energetic and active. It was very good to see them in high spirits with energy!!!

So much snow!! About as much as we have here in Sweden! Where are you situated, @timbo?

Oh, I love the feeding method of the mealworms! I want to learn it too! I want to be able to bury my head in a food source and stay there for an extended period of time. What a bliss that would be!!

Haha! Yes indeed it would be fun to be a mealworm haha. Ahh, perfect bliss!

Yes, indeed we have a lot of snow. Colorado is where I am as well, I live on top of a mountain so it has a lot of snow but usually not this much all at one time, at least not this mountain haha. The most I have seen was about 9 feet, the first year I was here. It was insane, we had to dig tunnels to get out of the house! I wish I had pictures from back then.

Thank you so much for your comment and support it made me laugh!

Have a great day my friend, STEEM ON!
~Timbo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87