Learning To Drive A Horse & Buggy

in #animals7 years ago

In February 2016 when we decided to buy the farm we have now we also decided to purchase an inexpensive buggy to learn to drive with. In April we were able to purchase a harness at auction and some Amish friends came over and taught us how to hitch up a buggy and drive it! Obviously I did not photograph the learning process with the Amish there, but after they left I picked up my camera and captured pictures of our first buggy ride alone! My girls and I had so much fun! We believe it is wise to have an alternative form of transportation in case of emergency. This past winter we were able to purchase a covered buggy for only $300 as it needed $50 worth of repairs. If you've never shopped around for buggies you'll know that this was a STEAL of a deal. We sold our old buggy for what we paid for it and bought the "new" one. I'll be posting pictures of it at some point, I'm sure.

Here is a picture of Fire Bug all hooked up and ready to go!
IMG_1354.JPG

My youngest daughter wanted to take a picture of me in the buggy, so I was making a goofy face for her. Note: in the background you can see the camper that we lived in the first summer we owned our farm while we were working on the house.
IMG_1368.JPG

The view from the buggy (taken by a child).
IMG_1361.JPG

Sort:  

That's exciting! The seats look like they were taken out of a van and mounted on the buggy!

Our kids cannot wait to go visit after seeing this. Now they want horses and a buggy.

Visit? I thought you were going to move to Kentucky! ;)

That would be so much fun..

It is, indeed, LOTS of fun!

Looks like you're having fun!

Good ol Fire Bug!
Such a fun thing to learn! Do you have the picture of us in the buggy?

I'll have to check and see! :)

Hi @themyrrhmaid !! Is that Shadow?!
I also think alternative, emergency transportation is an excellent idea! We have discussed finding our own in the future. I hope all is well with you guys! :)

Nope! This horse's name is Fire Bug. He is a Standardbred. We sold him earlier this year. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60828.34
ETH 2917.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38