An Adventure In Dog Sitting

in #animals6 years ago

I've just had the opportunity to do live-in-pet-sitting for two lovely little dogs. I looked after the girls for 4 days, and had a great time.

IMG20180203093102.jpg

The first day I arrived at about 4pm (after I finished work). I set my stuff down and had a quick walk around the house to find out where everything was, then got changed into some comfier clothes. I did their evening feed, then went onto getting my evening feed sorted.

As it started to get dark, I decided that I should probably move my bike further round the back, and I nipped outside to do so... I was so pre-occupied with making sure the little doggies were okay and not running outside onto the street that I forgot the front door was deadlocked. I closed the door behind me and realised that I was locked out. On the first day. How responsible. Before she left the owner had told me to go to the neighbours to get a spare key if I got locked out, so I'm guessing it was a common occurrence for anyone who stayed. She'd let me know about several people that had a key, but of course knowing my luck none of them could find their keys. I went back to the house very worried that I was going to have to call her, but decided to go around the back to see if they'd left any windows open before leaving. They hadn't, but there was the dog door.

...I spent 10 minutes squeezing through a dog door made for kelpie sized dogs.

Thankfully, I didn't make any more mistakes with regards to locking myself out.


The next day my sister and mum came to visit and I told them about something that'd happened the previous night. I thought it was gross but my mum thought it was hilarious.
The little pug had some sleep on her face from her eye, and there was quite a lot of it (when telling my mum I said she had a "huge thing of eyeball snot on her face"). I went to the bathroom to get a piece of tissue to wipe it off, but when I got back it was gone. Where was it? On my butt. I sat on it. -_-

IMG20180204091908.jpg
this is the clearest photo I have of her because she won't sit still!

Friday night I settled down for bed at about 8pm because I was exhausted. The dogs weren't though. The kelpie was out in the backyard and up and down off the bed. I was really worried about both of them and thought something must be wrong. Maybe it was too hot? Or they weren't feeling well? Or they missed their mum?
I finally figured out why they were acting so strange though. It was too early and the lights were off, so they were lying down as if to sleep and 5 minutes later going outside and doing some laps of the yard just to come back inside and nap again.
By 10:30 they were fast asleep - turns out that not everyone likes bedtime being 3 hours early and they just weren't ready for bed yet.

IMG20180203195258.jpg


Saturday went by really well, they had a couple of walks and we all relaxed and before I knew it, it was Sunday already. Their mum and dad got back at around 10:30ish and I headed off. They must've been happy with the work I did though because I've been asked to sit for them again next week :)

IMG20180203175735.jpg

Sort:  

You are that skinny and flexible, you could have squeezed through a cat clap :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43