Ruby Roo

in #animals7 years ago

IMG_3935.JPG

Ruby thinks she's a person. Which is really cute when she's around people, and not so cute around other dogs. Of course, she's only about 5 pounds and has lost most of her teeth, so it's not like she can do a lot of damage to another dog. She is super protective of her people though- Once my brother-in-law was asleep with her on the floor of a cousin's floor, and the cousin's daughter came over to shake him and wake him up. Ruby instantly went into attack mode and scared the poor kid!

IMG_3934.JPG

Ruby is my brother-in-law's dog. In these photos, she's only 10- now she's 14, and has lost most of her sight and her hearing. She still gets that glimmer in her eyes when she hears the word "treat" or a package crinkle. My sister-in-law jokes that she always had selective hearing, and now that she's going deaf she is even more selective about what she hears.

IMG_3932.JPG

IMG_3931.JPG

IMG_3925.JPG

She's super expressive. I captured this photo towards the end of our session, and Ruby was so done with the camera. Ruby has been part of my life for so long- 12 years. I have known her as long as my I have known my husband. When she knows someone well, they can get down on the ground with her and she'll roll around, making these sweet happy whiney noises. That's how you know she really loves you.

IMG_3826.JPG
All photos and text property of the author

Sort:  

Haha Ruby's a cutie

Thank you! We like her and hope she will stick around forever :) dog lifespans are just too short

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Thank you! Yorkies are known for looking like puppies throughout their lifespan. She's a sweetie

I had a yorkie for 15 years, I love this breed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67144.34
ETH 3517.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69