From Shelter to Adventure: The Story of Adopting my Best Friend

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

All of the dogs 🐶 in the kennels at the Burbank Animal Shelter were eagerly awaiting the attention of the visitors that afternoon...except one dog.
image1.JPG
The name on her kennel read: Mariposa. She was curled up in a ball, laying on her cot, and facing away from the public. The only time she perked up was when any of the workers came by with her kennel with a leash, but since she was withdrawn all of the people were walking past her. My heart ❤️ was melting.

Her kennel said she had been there for 7 months. When I asked a few questions about her, they said because of her breed it's been a struggle to find her a home. They also said she couldn't be around children or other animals, which was causing her adoption issues.

I came back to that shelter for the next 4 days in a row. Each day bringing a treat and spending time with Mariposa beside her kennel. Finally on day four, there was movement. She recognized me and came to greet me. The shelter allowed me to take her outside to play a little that afternoon. Needless to say, she played with nothing and didn't even acknowledge me once the entire time. She definitely needed love ❤️.

I adopted Mariposa that afternoon! I have since changed her name to Nikita, and she is the bestest pal I could ask for. We are working on some issues she still has...separation anxiety and global fear(the fear of everything except humans and animals), but she is overcoming them with each day in her forever home.

Hiking, camping, and sleeping are her favorite things to do. She is actually very good with my cats and the neighbor kids. She also has a pack of friends at the dog park.

We plan on sharing all of our great adventures with our new friends on STEEMIT!

Here is some footage of our first year together

Sort:  

That is one cute dog and owner :)

Enjoy every second with that beautiful dog and I am sure she will bring much happiness to you both.

Thank you very much 🙌🏼🙏🏼 She is one of a kind, and a blessing for sure.

I feel you, Dog lover here..

Congratulations @stonerhousewife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Dogs are the greatest :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65