Sort:  

I'd recommend finding a nice one and getting acquainted. A lot of times fear can be based on perception rather than reality. It may be that you are afraid of what you think snakes are, rather than what they actually are. Other than the extremely large snakes and the venomous species, the vast majority of snakes pose almost no real threat to anyone.

Do you know anyone with a Ball Python?

Well said! You are definitely correct. I came into close contact with what we believed was a water moccasin when I was a little kid that has scarred me since!

I know someone who has a small ball python now that you mention it. She isn't super close but a friend of a friend

I'd seriously recommend seeing if you can check it out. Often, pet owners don't mind showing off their pets. A small one is even better! Just explain your situation and see what happens. Might even make a good post!

She has offered multiple times! i just haven't taken her up on it! It would make for a great post!

I used to have fear of snakes and spiders. I overcame both by buying a corn snake and a tarantula (at different times). I started by just observing them and worked my way up to handling them until I became unafraid. They are really both amazing creatures with their own personalities. Facing your fears is a great way to increase your confidence.

That is quite impressive to overcome the fear of both of those. I feel like many people are afraid of both snakes and spiders. I just googled "Corn Snake" and they are beautiful. I just need to face this fear and become comfortable with them. Thanks for sharing your experience!

Please let us know how it goes. Take your time and slowly expand your comfort zone if you need to.

Great advice and way to go!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79