The Fish of a LifetimesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

Hello friends,

I was wandering aimlessly down the gaping hallways of my memory and experiences. I have experienced many things I do not remember -- some of which happened between 12 and 2 am in college. That notwithstanding, I want to show you a fish I was lucky enough to catch.

Photos Library.jpg

Fish: Striped Bass
Length: 46.5 inches
Weight: 43lbs
Caught in: New Jersey (Sandy Hook Bay), United States of America

As a reference point, I am 6'5 and have a large wingspan [Sorry Euros -- I​ do not convert into the metric system]. The fish was caught using bunker chunks while the boat was at a stop. I was also using a spinning reel and 30lb test. This momma was definitely a breeder fish and, having learned so much about the reproductive cycle of Striped Bass, I would have probably let her go had I been more educated.

The fish took about fifteen minutes to haul in and I was DEAD tired. I felt like such a wimp, and in the back of my mind I was saying to myself, "This fish is going to weigh like 15 pounds and I am going to look like a pre-pubescent twig when she surfaces." THEN. SHE. BREACHES. I'm talking airborne. The fish jumped a few feet into the air and turned like a whale. Everyone went nuts and I was gifted the adrenaline surge requisite to finish the catch.

All in all, we ate every bit of this fish. My friends and I had a beach house in Manasquan, New Jersey, which was frequented by guests. I made fish tacos and steaks for THREE nights and fed about 20 people 3 times, with some to spare to give to my family and friends. It was my first striper and probably the largest I would ever catch. That happened two years ago, this July 4th weekend. God Bless America and Happy 4th.

Cheers,
Evan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 54635.52
ETH 2893.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03