Tiny Chicks As Festival Prizes?

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

In what world is it okay to offer live baby chicks as festival prizes for kids, with or without parents present, to then shove these tiny creatures into a paper sack and hand them to the children who win each game?

It's acceptable in Southwest Virginia, apparently, even though Virginia law specifically prohibits the offering of immature fowl as contest prizes.

I don't know if I'm more appalled at the horrific end so many of these chicks have probably met by now, or by the community's clear determination to pass the buck, dodge blame, divert, redirect, and name-call to avoid taking any form of responsibility for this disgusting behavior. I wrote about this is my novel "High Kill," which is currently in the hands of a literary agent. I wrote about the region-wide desensitization to abuse that mirrors that of many underdeveloped countries. I wrote about officials who try to bully and intimidate the community into keeping silent. I wrote about the community itself circling the wagons to protect offenders, regardless of the victims or severity of the crime. Well. . .do you want to see a real-life example of this happening? If so, read on.

This was the original Facebook post by my rescue, clearly showing the Virginia law that prohibits this practice. If the text is too small, the resolution of the image should be high enough to withstand enlarging your monitor display without it becoming too pixelated to read.

I shared this on my personal Facebook page, and tagged two Eastern VA activists, as well as the local sheriff and his second in command. I did make a comment initially in the post about where the heck was law enforcement. I have since edited that, but here is the response by a representative of the local sheriff's office.

Not too bad, actually. At this point, I'm just trying to show how it all escalated. I do not believe that I or anyone associated with my rescue (like Alex and Colleena) were out of line in anything we said. The entire conversation can be viewed HERE.

Then this happened. Some of the "read more" tabs could not be clicked to reveal the entire comments, because she deleted the thread while I was taking screenshots. No concern at all about the animals. Just wanting to nitpick and weasel out of the community having to take any responsibility at all.

Then this, which is not so bad still, but another example of, "community isn't to blame, so let's just dodge this whole bullet by saying it didn't happen and making sure we all get a pass for it anyway."

Then THIS happened. I did not screenshot the whole conversation because--quite honestly--I started effing with this guy and getting a little silly. I tend to bat Facebook trolls around like a cat with a toy, and y'all don't want to see that. But it's on my rescue's FB page, if you follow the link above. Different post, but it's there unless he deletes his comments. Seriously, though. . .he's raking me over the coals because I did "do something," at the same time he's berating me for not doing something. Hello? Any critical thinking skills left in Appalachia?

Shortly after that, a member of law enforcement, a high-ranking member of the sheriff's office, said. . .well, I'll let you read it for yourselves, and see if you feel his outrage was warranted, or if maybe--just maybe--there's an "Untouchables" vibe going on here.

As I was composing this post, another comment appeared on my Facebook feed. This one has a slightly different tone. It proves I'm not alone in my opinion about the problems here, but this person was very brave in speaking up this way. I'm sure she will face repercussions. I know I certainly will. If I don't end up dead from all the beans I spilled in "High Kill," I'll end up suffering in one way or another. The Mountain Mafia will see to that.

Sort:  

This is the response of our county sheriff, as well as my reply.

What I find absolutely terrifying is that no one considers this ethically wrong, regardless of the specifics of the law. I commented on one of your FB posts in a similar direction. But you don't just give pets to children. Acquiring a pet requires thought and planning. You need food. The animal, unless it is being kept in the house, needs appropriate shelter. I assume these people have access to water to give their animals when they get home. But how many of these animals were acquired by children whose parents will say no? How many will be abandoned on a road side, in the woods, or just thrown into the yard for the coons, coonhounds, foxes, etc., to feast upon? How many will be snuck into children's bedrooms by kids who knew their parents would say no so didn't tell them? No matter how compassionate a child is, they need education, support, and guidance to make sure the pet is cared for properly. Did each chick and rabbit come with starter feed to get them through the weekend? Was there a pamphlet of basic care directions? What about the need for hutches or coops? I am appalled that people are so nonchalant about the idea. At least when it is gold fish they can be put into a glass jar or something until more appropriate aquariums can be obtained. Have a petting zoo, charge a small entrance fee, and teach kids about animals. Don't hand them over to unprepared families.

As for the kids being unsupervised. Isn't this how kids learn to go out in the world? You give them a little room in what should be a relatively safe environment. You check in with them frequently and have friends and neighbors keeping an eye on them and around where the kids can go up to one of them or law enforcement and ask for help. You don't expect people to be handing them bunnies or chicks!

It is awful and it happened in Greece when I lived there years ago. I remember seeing a man with an open suitcase full of them for sale when I stepped out of Pireaus station for the first time (back when they still had trams) and thought it very bad. Since then they've come a long way in educating people and you and I don't believe you see this any more. Or at least I hope not. Read my piece on Ethics in another area and see how interested in ethics I am.

Hard to imagine this sort of hostile environment unless you have to live in it... hugs

Thank you, Tiny. :-(

I wish I could do more. :-(

you have my support.

Thank you, Jon. That means a lot.

wonder what you have learned this morning :) following the post on FB .

voted and resteemed

Victory! Since you're following on Facebook, I'll share the link to the post I made tonight here with details. Anyone who sees this and wishes to thank the Cedar Bluff Police Department for pursuing resolution of this case not only across jurisdictional lines but across state lines, please please please follow the link and leave a nice comment that includes nation or U.S. state you're from. The Steemit Factor made a huge difference in the outcome of this situation. People weighing in from around the world mattered to the leadership of Cedar Bluff, so the least we can do is shower them with thanks for standing tall. https://www.facebook.com/tazewellanimalrescuecoalition/posts/719450204916068

Here in the Philippines the chicks are sprayed with powder color to make them more attractive, especially to the kids. Sadly, the mortality rate for these chicks are really high because they become playthings of the children. Most of the chicks are "rejects" from poultry farms. They are rejected because they are males, there is no profit in keeping male chicks. They couldn't produce eggs and its costly to feed so they are rejected. Our government do not have any intention of solving issues like this, its really saddening. :(

Sadly, we have laws on the books in my state to deter this type of thing. But what good are the laws if they aren't enforced? It's an awful thing, and doesn't teach children any lessons they should be learning.

I think its both the same here and there. The supply of these chicks for both countries is close to unlimited. If its a threatened species, governments would surely act but its not.

Anyone who objects to my pigeonholing of Appalachian hillbilly ignorance, please have a look at this comment from my Facebook post. I'm not pulling the stereotypes out of thin air. The ignorance is real.

Just saving to the blockchain for future reference.

Jesus - there are those people after all. Crazy.

This is terrifying. Domestic rabbits do not have the coloring to survive in the wild! I am sure most were fed to the coonhounds or whatever else people already had.

It's getting really fun now. Too bad you can't flag trolls on Facebook. By the way, I only use Facebook to reach locals in Appalachia. About forty percent of them actually have Internet.

Welcome to Appalachia, Hillbilly Hell.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91