Tales From An Appalachian Animal Rescue

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

TRUE STORY

ME: You do realize that a closed gate means no crossing?

THEM: Oh, I'm sorry. I didn't know.

(Really?)

THEM: I have a full-blooded lab I need somebody to take. He isn't good with other boy dogs.

ME: Is he neutered?

THEM: No.

ME: Then get him neutered. That may solve your problem.

THEM: No, the vet said it won't help.

ME: Then your vet is an idiot.

THEM: I don't want to take him to the pound.

ME: Funny how nobody knows we exist when we need donations and community support, but if they need to dump a dog they know exactly how to find me.

THEM: I'm not dumping him. I don't want to take him to the pound.

ME: Dumping him is exactly what you're doing, bringing him here to dump him on me.

THEM: I'm sorry to disturb you.

ME: Get your dog neutered.

THE TAKEAWAY: did everybody in Southwest Virginia find the same mushroom patch?

Sort:  

LOL Ditto with dumping cats!

Oooh, yes. Epidemic.

Most in 1 weekend was 15 cats! One was placed on my back enclosed deck and was still under anesthesia from being neutered! No way that male cat could have got there by himself!

Oh, good grief! That is absurd! That poor cat. And poor you. If some people find out you're willing to give an inch to help, they'll take a mile.

That mushroom patch is probably empty, consumed in great hurry at the widest distribution. It must be a species that grows and spreads quickly as I am certain most of the people I work with have the same dietary consideration.

what in the world is with people not wanting to fix their animals! UGH! Like really? It solves TONS of behavioral problems and it's the responsible thing to do 😑

Exactly! I just don't get it. Never will. Must be the mushrooms.

A member of the Collie group I'm in private-messaged me that she has NOT NEUTERED any of her male Collies and never will. They are healthier, she believes, if left uncut, and live longer, better lives.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97