One Cat Leads To Another > Good Day Steemians

in #animals8 years ago (edited)

 This is me getting Steemian naked before the good people of Steemit community  HANG ON  please, don't be too critical of my bold move to be transparent. The need for safe space has come to an end and in so doing here comes my story.

  I grew up a dog person and never had much interests in cats. I trained some pretty amazing dogs in my life and never ever wanted a cat. . . until one day that all changed (at a period when I needed wisdom > healing > a bit of joy) Suddenly, without warning > nothing but CATS cats Catz< came into my life.

“Cats are connoisseurs of comfort.” James Herriot 

The story starts out in 2017 waking up early to do meditation > when a glimpse of the morning sun caught my eye as it rested on Rusty's face. As I passed by my heart was overwhelmed with gratitude "What a beautiful start of the day." Without another thought I immediately  ran to get my mobile phone to capture the moment. *Snap* Now you get to see that moment, too.

"It is much easier to show compassions to animals. They are never wicked."   Haile Selassie 

But, we must go back further. 

Princes came to us abused > hiding from all human contact > from the fear she experienced in her past. 

With patience and  love she grew to be close and gave many years of joy and happiness.

 "All of the animals except for man know that the principle business of life is to enjoy it."  Samuel Butler

Princes was an indoor cat but when she got out she never left the backyard > Always curious and cautious about everything that crossed her way. 

" The animals of the world exist for their own reasons. They were not made for humans any more than black people were made for white, or women created for men."  Alice Walker 

In her final weeks she stopped playing and would only watch the bugs, frogs and small creatures. She seemed at peace. She was content with me focusing and taking photos of her > which she never did before. 

I could not let her go in my mind and was told by my best friend that Princes would not leave this earth unless I was OK with here leaving > even if she had to suffer. I balked at that idea and stayed with her night and day hoping she would take a turn for the better. Her breath got shallower and shallower and with tears in my eyes I finally cried within > "Princes, I let you go. Thank you for coming into my life. We both were broken and help each other in so many ways > without words we learned to trust, love and enjoy life. Thank you, my friend, I release you." Several hours later she gave her last breath and passed away. I miss her dearly.

 We lost Princes but into our lives came four more cats > An abandoned mother and her 3 kittens. 

" There are no accidents... there is only some purpose that we haven't yet understood."  Ritu Ghatourey

With that knowledge there only can be peace and wisdom to enjoy our life. 

These are all my photos and words. If you like what you see, please, comment, upvote and follow. Thank you!

Sort:  

Sweet story! Your Princes lived for 20 years, that's an incredible mark for a cat. I always had cats...and no one lived that long!

When we manage to open our lives we never know what to expect.
loveLENGTHENSlife.gif

Usually good stuff! Another great gif!! Thanks for making my day better :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.78 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 24 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83