My unforgettable encounter with the sloth - cutest, weirdest and funniest animal of Costa Rica

in #animals7 years ago

Hi Steemians!

I am here with another post dedicated to my recent trip to Costa Rica. This time around, I would like to show you a few photos of sloths that I took there. The sloth is one of the symbols of this Central American country and I must say that meeting these chilled guys face-to-face in the Costa Rican wilderness was one of the coolest things I have ever experienced.

IMG_20170903_093001.jpg

The sloth only comes down from a tree once a week to defecate. So yeah, this guy was just about to do his business :D

21558630_10210765883246555_602729979671933514_n.jpg

This is how close I actually got to him. He was just amazing! :)

IMG_20170903_092717.jpg

After he did what he needed to, he "rushed" back to the tree. Just checking whether I was still looking :D

IMG_20170904_104940.jpg

This is how a baby sloth looks like. Photo taken in a sloth sanctuary near Puerto Viejo.

IMG_20170908_073942.jpg

Another sloth we met there. We saw this guy trying to cross a road when we were on our way to a national park with a guide. The guide gently grabbed the poor fella and transported him safely to the other side of the road.

Here are a few fun facts about sloths I learnt in Costa Rica:

Sloths are very slow and clumsy on land but they are excellent swimmers.

They spend most of the day sleeping.

They can turn their head almost 360 degrees.

They are related to anteaters and armadillos.

They may remain hanging from tree even after death.

Hopefully your learnt something new in the post and fell in love with these awkward smiling furry bundles :) Do you have any experience with the sloth? Let me know in the comments and feel free to share and vote!

Sort:  

Really amazing story and awesome photos @phortun!

Thanks for sharing!

-resteemed & upvoted

Glad you liked that Jonas! :) And thank you for resteeming thand voting ;)

I love sloths so much. I went to a rescue centre in French Guiana, but I've seen them in the wild too.

Yes, sloths are awesome :) I am sure you have many of them in Panama too... I will check your posts, looks like you are into traveling and nature too :)

I live in Panama City so there's none here. I've seen them in South America and Costa Rica.

I love how he looks so jolly :D

Exactly, they always look super happy and relaxed :D

Super cute! His smile melt my heart :)

Thank you :) Yes, he was adorable!

What is that orange spot and black line on his back? Is that a tracking mark or something?

Thats a good question. Only adult males have this orange mark but nobody knows why for sure...

Oh wow. I wasnt sure if it was his natural fur or something was wrong.

I was thinking the same when I saw it for the first time. Looks quite un-natural. But thats what I was told :)

that´s cool. would love to see one as well.

Yeah, they are amazing :) To see them in the wild though, you need to come to Central or South America. But you guys have stunning wildlife in Australia too ;)

Wow what a beautiful creature

Yeah, it is :) definitely one of my favourite animals :)

The pictures really make this post!=D
If you really like cute creatures check my latest post
I would much appreciate the support!

Thank you, checked your salamander post and voted! Good job :)

Wonderful article and lovely photos! Sloths are actually my favorite animal, so I love reading about it ^^

Thank you Corina! I will add some more sloth stories soon :)

Fabulous post - sorry I found it so late - I love these guys
Upvoted

Thank you @sallybeth23 and no worries, I will post many other posts about animals that you will not miss ;) Thank for your support, looking forward to reading and upvoting your posts too ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57606.89
ETH 3164.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28