My unusual animal neighbors

in #animals7 years ago

Possibly like many of you, I had a few different neighbors live across the street from me. However, since I live in the country my neighbors have been quite a bit different than you may expect.

I live in rural Texas with an eight acre field across the street from me. I do have neighbors spaced apart on my street, but directly across is where the scenery changes with a variance of animals.

For the first few years it was just high growing grass and my young girls make paths to explore and play hide-and-seek. In the evening it was common to see 2-10 deer in the field.
Deer in back yard.jpg
Then the owners mowed the eight acres and began leasing it to people to keep horses on the land. The horses changed periodically and one time there were two miniature ponies – one black and one white.

Years later the land sold and an interesting neighbor moved in; a gigantic Texas Longhorn steer with horns far longer than an adult can stretch their arms out. We jokingly named him “Jerkey” and he was an interesting site when friends visited my home. I later met the owner and learned his daughter named him after the candy Snickers. so "Snickers" it was. Snickers was very old and too pre-occupied with munching on grass to charge at you, so much that the owner could slowly approach him closely with cow treats in his hand.

1888695_822514304429763_1419318841_n.jpg
10014690_822514224429771_1526581644_n.jpg

longhorn feed.jpg

longhorn chris.jpg
The last picture is me trying to get close to Snickers. He was shy and didn't want to have anything to do with me.

After a few years I was disappointed to learn someone bought the land to build a home on and Snichers was getting evicted. However, today I have a large home and barn across the street with an Alpaca farm. The owners are nice and open the farm periodically for people to visit and allow their children see and pet some of the 30-40 alpacas.
alpaca.jpg

Smile!

Sort:  

Congratulations @ninjajournalist! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66750.09
ETH 3474.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80