New addition to the family.

in #animals7 years ago

Good morning everyone...

Yesterday I received a call from a friend of a friend asking if Id like a newly born lamb, the old sheep they didn't know was pregnant just had lambed and she wasn't producing any milk.

This is my first time raising from this young but right now I have the time and resources so I thought I'd give it ago.

She is on powered Colostrum milk and is having 100 ml every 4 hours, this amount is working well for her and she is gaining strength nicely.

We are currently going through a very wet spring and with her been so little I have her snuggled up in the wood box in the lounge, this way I can keep a close eye on her for the first 24 hours. I do have a sheep shed in the paddock but feel she is far to small to head out there at least for the first week, fingers crossed I might have a couple more coming over the next couple of days that have been dumped due to back yard breeding (who would of thought back yard breeding with sheep) so they can cuddle up together.

20171009_190253.jpg

All is going well so far, she has a good appetite and likes a little cuddle.
Has anyone got any tips or any thing I need to keep an eye out for that I might of missed?

Happy Steeming everyone....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60420.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60