You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Elephants at Sea?

in #animals6 years ago

I think if I was on the naval ship and saw an elephant swimming by, I'd probably head down to see the doctor. LOL
I'm surprised how deep they are able to dive and that they predominantly feed under deep water. I've often wondered what the purpose is behind the male's bulbous nose too. This is chock full of information! #til

Sort:  

Unfortunately, I don't know the answer to that one either. The big noses seem rather impractical (as opposed to on elephants, where the long trunks are very useful).

I'm just throwing something nutty out, but wouldn't it be neat if it actually housed a water to air kind of filtration system so they could stay under water longer? I mean, why not, right? Air breathing fish exist. :P

I'm sure militaries have spent a lot of time and money trying to make gill-breathing work for people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59404.52
ETH 2610.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41