Lokii's Life: My wife is a crazy cat lady

in #animals7 years ago

Welcome to my zoo

As stated in the title, my wife is a “crazy cat lady” at heart. Had she not found a husband I believe she would have surrounded herself with more “fur babies” than one could count. As it stands we have still accumulated a hefty supply of 7 animals, 5 cats and 2 dogs.

Now I cannot claim that she is to blame for all of these animals. She will be the first to tell you that I am responsible for multiple additions to this supply. I will grudgingly admit that I have a place in my heart for each one of them.

We currently live in a 3-bedroom 2 story house. Seems kind of large compared to what I am used to, and even more so after moving from a 1-bedroom single story house. Drop 7 animals and 3 humans into said house and it suddenly doesn’t seem as big as it used to. Due to this, and partly because “they miss the outside”, my wife asked me to build an outdoor “kitty enclosure”.

The purpose of this post is to brag, slightly, about the structure I created with my bare hands so to speak. It is the first thing of this scale that I have ever constructed by myself and I am quite pleased with the way it turned out. By this I mean that it functions and hasn’t fallen over yet. Keep in mind while looking at the pictures that it has not been completed 100%, just to a functional level. I still have to add stone to the bottom of the pen and work on cosmetic features such as toys and carpet. The second reason for the post is to talk a little about an aspect of my home life that I am comfortable with posting on the platform.

Without any more ramblings I present to you the Out Door Kitty Enclosure.

As an added bonus to the post I figured I would introduce you to the cast of characters that will be utilizing this luxurious real estate.

Maria - The first addition to our family unit. She was commandeered from my brothers in-laws house to live with my wife and I. She liked to spend her younger days sneaking out of our house and go "hoeing on the streets". One of these hoeing escapades led to her pregnancy, and the third addition to our family.


The elusive Evee - Rescued from under the porch of a friends house. She spends her day lounging around, but at night she comes out to cuddle next to one of her parents. However, if there is a knock at the door she disappears until said threat leaves the premises. Humans are not to be trusted unless they are her parents. As a side note/warning, to pick on her lazy eye is to invite a slow and painful death from her mother


Hugo - The resulting single kitten in Maria's litter (kind of rare but she only gave birth to 1 kitten). Hugo has taken the roll of alpha male among the cats. There is only one animal in the house that he does not try to dominate and that is my eldest dog, whom Hugo has a strong unreciprocated love for.



Mama "don't poke the bear" Kitty - The cat whose size matches her attitude. She was a stray cat for over a year and has a "food may not be there tomorrow so I better eat as much as possible today" syndrome. Lost her tail in a bar fight with another cat who I swear was part bob cat. She will show more love than any of the other cats if she wants to, if she doesn't want to you may lose a finger. I still swear this cat is plotting to kill me in my sleep.


Phoenix - The golden plated kitty. This cat has a seizure disorder and has been to the emergency vet more times than I can remember, each time costing more than a grand. Now, probably close to +$5,000 dollars poorer, this cat needs medicine every 12 hours to mitigate the probability of having a seizure. On a good note, this cat has formed a bond with my wife that really has to be seen to be believed. It is truly amazing to see the amount of love and caring my wife has inside her, and can give to something like a cat. Blows my mind in a good way every day.


And not to be left out my favorite two furry children. (No I do not have a problem with saying they are my favorite, everyone knows this already)

Sir Romeo Abu Hakim - Don't ask about the name, I was young when I named him for his registration. Romeo is an ex-stoner, ex-alcoholic, and an old school partier. He now spends his old age laying around dreaming about the good ol' days. He is the oldest animal in the house and rules over all if the need arrives. He does not like violence, unless he is causing it, and has no problem putting trouble makers in their place.


Leia - Daddy's little girl. She has separation anxiety whenever her parents leave. She needs to be near her daddy at all times, including following him around the house. If I leave, she spends her time howling out the window waiting for his return (I didn't believe this until my mother got a video of it).




I hope you enjoyed your brief look inside my world, and thank you for spending your time reading about it. Ideals for additions to the "kitty enclosure" are more than welcome, at this point I have no idea the things to add.

Sort:  

I like animals. My dog ,Speedy is the oldest Italian Greyhound in Hungary. He is a 15 years old boy.

Great article and wonderful pictures! @lokii

This post has received a 6.63 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @lokii.

Congratulations @lokii! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The enclosures looking good brother. I see you got the door in the window so the cats are ready to get to enjoying the great outdoors. Keep us posted to when it's finished

Wow love cage idea...Amazing post and cute cats ^_^ thanks for sharing @lokii

Thank you. It was my wifes idea, all i did was build it lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70