You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beauty Stings #2 - The Wattle Cup Caterpillar

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

I was stung by one of these things as a kid. It is excruciatingly painful. I had only accidentally brushed it with my arm. The skin swells up and is very inflamed. Beyond the pain, the hardest thing is to ignore your impulse to rub or scratch as they will only aggravate the sting.

Like you said in the article, the colours are a warning.

DO NOT TOUCH!

Sort:  

Well to be honest I am a bit jealous. I wouldnt mind getting stung if that was the price for seeing this creature from up close 😁😁. You are somewhere in Australia I guess, right?

They are pretty look at, but you want to stay at looking distance.

I was in Australia for a good deal of my life thus far, however I have been living in Europe for the past 14 years.

I guess you are in the USA.

Not anymore no. Now in Greece. I just asked out of curiosity because according to the few not-so-trustworthy sources I found, this is a species only endemic to Australia and just wanted to confirm this.

Almost everything wants to sting or bite you in Australia.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54518.65
ETH 2301.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33