You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Amazing Animals #15 The Spotted Hyena

in #animals7 years ago

I had the chance to witness hyenas both in zoos and in their element (in the Krueger park). Unfortunately, I can't tell which one of the four I saw. I may need to pay more attention the next time :p

Funnily enough, when visiting the Kruger park, the hyenas were standing around the truck we were, and as soon as we were stopping, they were trying to eat our tires ^^

Sort:  

That's amazing, i'm so envious!

You probably saw Spotted Hyena as they are the least shy species of Hyena and the most common in that area, all other Hyena species don't live in groups larger than 5-6 animals so if there were more than that it would've definitely been the Spotted.

As for the tires they generally try to eat anything that they can partially fit in to their mouth, there's a lot of stories of them even trying to eat Aluminium cans and metal buckets!

signature.png

There were definitely more than 5-6. More on the level of 10 I would say (but this was 1 year ago already and my memory is not perfect).

You can check the picture on the other post I shared with you on the chat. Dunno whether it helps ;)

They are some bizarre, but amazing creatures!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50