Always make sure our Furry companions are safe and sound...

in #animals6 years ago

IMG_4496.jpg

This little guy's name is Jackson aka Jax. We first met back in 2006 he was only 10 weeks old, he could bearly fit into the palm of my hand. To tell the truth over the years he actually had more friends then I did Lol We shared so many moments and memories together until he was tragically taken away from me nearly 2 years ago. My world came crashing down when I arrived home from work one night and found 2 stray dogs had busted their way through the locked gate. You would assume having a fully enclosed backyard everything would be safe. I was wrong! At that moment we spent our last few minutes together until he passed away in my arms. To this day it still makes me sick. I have no idea what happened to those 2 dogs they were never to be seen again.

IMG_3835.jpg

1 years before losing Jax I rescued another dog who at the time was named Ally, that was her shelter name. She had been abandoned with no tags no microchip no history. Ally's name quickly changed to Aiya. For anyone that watches Game of Thrones, you would know who Aria Stark is. I was meaning to name her after Aria but I obviously got that wrong lol Anyway they became best buddies​. At the start, ​she did show signs of neglect and considering she weighed 40kgs the poor thing was frightened of pretty much everything. Jackson gave her the love and companionship I think she needed to turn her into such and loving and loyal member of the family. It was extremely hard dealing with the loss not only for me and my family but Aiya suffered as well in a big way.

IMG_8984.jpg

IMG_5929.jpg

2 years on with the help of Aiya's cousin's Willow and Snoopy she's back to her loving happy and lazy self! Big smiles and heaps of slobber...

I felt the need to share this only because I always assumed our own backyard is a 100% safe environment. You just never know what may happen or when. Double check your locks make sure no intruders can get in. I love my Dogs as my own kids I would hate for someone else to go through this experience​. After so long since the incident,​ this will help me with my healing process. Please feel free to share any experience's I​ would love to hear from you.

Thanks for reading ...

Sort:  

Congratulations @kiwibrewbro! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kiwibrewbro! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61852.61
ETH 3084.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83