Some Texas neighborhoods have squirrels, rabbits, or deer… ours had peacocks.

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

Who needs squirrels when you can have peacocks.

The other day, I mentioned in an earlier post that I was going to post videos of peacocks from my old neighborhood but I needed to brush up on which were boys and which were girls.

 "peacock steemit karencarrens2.jpg"

Then someone mentioned:

Beautiful peacock. Pretty sure it's a peacock, not a peahen, because only the males have the elaborate tail plumage that they can fan out.

I see now that the suffix gives it away every time!

I CAN'T believe that this whole time, to me, peacocks were just peacocks. I had never heard the term peahen (female), peachick (baby) or peafowl (collectively). It’s still weird to even say peafowl… I’ve only ever heard them called peacocks.

They stay where they are happy.

So, these guys aren’t native to Texas; in fact, these are the kind from India, Sri Lanka or Pakistan. The boy peacocks are bright blue. The girl peahens are brown. I took a few videos so you can check out the difference. They live anywhere from 10 to 25 years so these guys are decedents from the ones that I had growing up. Apparently, peafowls are flocking ground birds and tend to stay where they are happy.

Can't help my voice.

And, please forgive my voice when I talk to the birds. I really can’t help it; my voice goes up a few octaves when I talk to babies, small kids and animals.

He's really sweet. I'm just a scaredy-cat.

She's just headin' home!

If you like my post, please upvote, comment and follow me @karencarrens :)

Much Luv,

@karencarrens

Sort:  

nice video, when i was young my church have a few of them. when they dance so beautiful.
Please follow me @patricksanlin and upvote. Thanks

That's sweet. Thanks for the comment. And, yes, I will look at your blog. :)

I rather like your voice. You seem nice. Your appreciation for the peafowl is quite apparent. Yep you got it, they are Asian birds, not native to the Americas and the boy is the cock and the girl is the hen. Follow my posts to learn more about birds!

followed...
Please follow me @patricksanlin and upvote. Thanks

Great! I see you're actually a professional with capturing animal videos. Thanks for the compliment. :) BTW, absolutely, I'll follow. Love animals.

Aww, that's so cute! I love peacocks (well, peafowl, lol). :)

Aren't they adorable? They can get a little carried away but for the most part, lots of fun. And, yes, peafowl! :)

This post has received a 1.71 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @karencarrens.

Just catching up, nice bird. 😎

They are pretty.

Hello Steemian of the Day! Nice to meet you! I would have been just like you, closing the car door and putting the windows up. They are pretty to look at but who knows what they might do. Why is it that the boys are always prettier than the girls? HaHa! To me, all of them will always be just "peacocks." :)

I know! Who the heck calls them Peafowls?! And, yea, most don't bother you but there's always 1 that has a chip on his sloping bird shoulders. The real "angry bird" and since I don't know these guys personally, I'm a little wary. I'll be super bummed if this one might have been one that was a real people bird and was trying to be a friend. So, back at ya, Steemian of the day, I'll pop in and visit your blog soon! Thanks for the fun comment.

Thank YOU for your fun reply. You made me chuckle and smile. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57030.30
ETH 2858.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62