A Girl and her Horse

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

We decided two years ago that we were going to buy horses and make our dreams come true.

Before we bought a horse we leased a horse for a year just to see if we really wanted to commit to a full time commitment. We wanted to make sure this was something we really wanted and not just a whim that would pass by like a feather in the wind. We drove 30 minutes every week to go see our leased horse and we really enjoyed our time with it. We enjoyed everything that we did even mucking out his stall. His name was Jimmy Jo and he was an old rodeo horse who had the patience of a saint. We made so many mistakes and saddling was a project. Each week we would try to remember what we learned the previous week and sometimes we remembered nothing. But one thing we always remembered was the joy being around a horse brought us.

Soon leasing a horse was not enough for us we wanted the bond only an owner and a horse could share. We wanted the love of a horse all to ourselves. So we bought our first horse and her name was Savannah. We convinced her owner that even though we were newbies and we told him we would probable mess up one thing we would do is love her. So on that day we became owner to a beautiful 9 year old Tennessee Walker Palomino horse and we were never the same again.

We got her home and fell totally in love with her the only problem was my daughter was scared to death of her. She was so big 16 hands to be exact and she totally intimidated my daughter. No matter what I did I could not convince my daughter that Savannah would not hurt her. If Savannah even looked at her she would run behind me and quiver like a leaf in the wind. I thought to myself oh my what did I do. My trainer told me to relax and give her time. So that is exactly what I did I gave her time.

One day when we were out walking the horse my daughter turned to me and said I want to do 4h with Savannah I laughed and said right. I told her she had to prove to me she could handle the horse before I would say yes. Well that is exactly what she did. She took the lead out of my hand and that was the first day of a beautiful relationship.

Today my daughter would do anything for Savannah. When I watch them together it is pure love and brings me great joy. When they are together they are one. My daughter has learned so much from Savannah and Savannah has learned so much from my daughter. The trust between the two is strong. It has taught my daughter to be responsible for something other than herself. I am so glad we bought her and pushed through the early days.

So what happened in 4h you may be wondering? My daughter won tons of ribbons for showing her and riding her. She did her first fair and gave her all in it. At the year end dinner my daughter won the most improved rider voted by her peers. She went from a beginner rider with very little skill to a rider who knows now that every time she gets on her horse is a new experience and is improving every time. I absolutely love watching my daughter and her horse it is a true blessing.

Sort:  

@jolly-homestead
Good content
Keep sharing good posts!

I'm glad that she found such joy through her horse.
She will have some great memories of her childhood.

Hello, my name is Urma.

I currently take care of a young adult who was vaccine injured with Autism after receiving the Varicella vaccine. Today he has improved considerably, however, it is clear that the Autism is still preventing him from leading a normal life.

Please if you care about your child's health, don't get vaccinated

Congratulations @jolly-homestead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Horses are so lovely creatures)) But this is also difficult and responsable job to take care of it. They teach us appreciate many thing and live in the moment. I like the article 😉

Sweet story. Congrats on your daughter winning so many ribbons and overcoming her fear. 🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29