My little girl lost a part of her tail today:(

in #animals7 years ago

Hi, guys!

Today morning has started for my home reptiland with a little trouble. When I was pulling Gerda out of her dining room a coconut hiding place fell on her tail, and so she has lost a part of it. Since it's a common situation for lizards it's nothing to worry about, but I decided to write a few about tails in general.

In nature if a lizard looses it's tail it grows again, BUT:

The new tail is no longer the continuation of the spine. So it creates a worse balance for hunting. It a male lots his tail he's no longer attractive for female, cause the new one is no longer as bright and beautiful. 

Among geckos there's also a tiny feature looking at which you can see if it'a a first tail or second one. I will show on example of my lizards:

This is Jar-Jar's tail, and she never lost it. You can see pimples on all tail and separative lines.

And this is Jerry's tail. You can easily see the line where the tail was lost. It no longer has pimples, and it's smooth.

I wish you all the best and will be happy if you'll support me with vote:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

Boost Your Post. Send 0.100 STEEM or SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 5000+ followers. check our account to see the follower count.

this is so emotional. 😢

I did know that. Poor one who loose their tail I feel for them now use just think it grew back fine± 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63195.68
ETH 2615.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74