You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Preserving a Unique Quail Species

in #animals7 years ago

I just picked up 6 more juvenile bobwhite quail from an enthusiast today! She had a couple of Mountain Quail in her collection! They were super cool looking! You must be on my wave length! Haha

So, do people raise and release into the wild? They’re kinda speedy birds for meat. What do you do with them?

Sort:  

Good stuff, did you have much luck with your most recent hatch?

Some people raise them for releasing in the wild, but I have never done that due to them not being native to my side of the country. I raise them strictly for hobby and preservation purposes. Usually I'll hatch out a few for my self every year to continue the bloodline I have, and then will sell the leftover eggs and/or chicks to other breeders.

the quail is very fast growing, and can save us from the economy. in the Bible there is an explanation of quail. quail is in blessing. we can share each other about quail problems. because I also keep it. Good luck

They definitely are a very handy bird with many benefits to both humans and the environment!

I’m slowly working on a post but all 9 viable eggs hatched!!! I broke down and helped the last two out (they were two days struggling and peeping! I had to...) and they are doing surprisingly well!!! More details in the post I’m working on for sure.

So I guess that’s 100%!! I am genuinely surprised!!

I was hopin to find some raise and release programs for Oregon, but no luck there!! Unfortunate, would have been really cool.

Awesome! Congrats! That's always exciting when you have great results like that. I'm definitely looking forward to seeing your post when it goes up.

If it might be of any interest to you, I posted up something tonight about a DIY quail feeder that prevents wasted feed. If you wanted to check it out, its -> https://steemit.com/homesteading/@bobwhite/diy-quail-feeder-preventing-feed-loss

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56855.76
ETH 2540.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24