Opal on the evolution of transportation

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

Hi all, it's Opal again.

I live in New York, and one of the most convenient ways to get around is by Subway. Unfortunately, I'm only allowed to use it if I'm in "suitable carrier", and then I need a human to carry me around. Sigh no freedoms... Such is dog life.

And actually, there is one other problem. I am terrified of loud noises and large things that move. I get all shaky just thinking about being near a subway, but it's always worth it if I can get to run around Central Park or go to the beach....

IMG_20140921_170201195-MOTION.gif

Here I am happily pawing through sand and dumping it on someone else. (The beach is another place they like to restrict us to go to, so that's also tough, more on that in a later post, perhaps).

But anyway, I want to share how I get around. My first vehicle:

IMG_20160115_212504.jpg

Doggie BMW! It's comfy, but my dad tells me it's a little bit heavy and bulky. So it wasn't that ideal. The funny part is that most people react with surprise to see me in this thing, because it looks so much like a baby stroller. Usually it's a delight-filled surprised, but I think one time someone screamed briefly in terror. That startled me. Why would someone be scared of such a cute thing like me?

The other nice part about this is that I can rest peacefully while being rolled to my destination. Great princess treatment.

But we got rid of it. My dad got the bright idea to try this:
IMG_20161029_201139.jpg

But you see that cushion? Since I was terrified of the subway I would shift around a lot and then push that cushion to the side. And once I fidgeted around so much that I caused a hole to rip in the bag. Had to patch that up with duct tape, which kind of worked.

Wow, now searching "Dog in ikea bag" on google, there seem to be very clever uses where you cut leg holes into the bag. Genius.... Example on reddit:

But anyway, we now found this one, which fit better.

IMG_20171006_204644.jpg

I rather like it. The size is just right and I feel protected. We go to the subway, and I'll hop right in and make myself comfortable (I'll try to record myself doing this, because it amuses my dad and likely is amusing to others). By the way, it's a Costco insulated bag intended for keeping items hot or cold.

So that's what's been working out best for us when moving around. How do you get around?

Sort:  

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem, it doesn´t have to be the first one. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!

I accept. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87