What mix of breeds is Tokka

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

IMG_9803.JPG

Our beautiful puppy Tokka is a backyard-special from Espanola near Sudbury, Ontario. We didn’t know much about her breeding as it was our friends who found her sister on Kijiji. This is the story we heard. The owners of a 10-month-old male Boxer visited friends who owned a prized female Labrador and an accident happened. No one knew the deed was done until it was evident their Female Lab was going to have Boxadors.

IMG_2299.JPG

The Lab owners were not happy, to say the least, and as soon as it was possible, the 8 puppies were dumped with the Boxer dad. The ad in Kijiji showed a close up of the dad but the mom’s picture was blurred, which has led our friends to speculate as to the reason behind the secrecy. However, I feel the story does align with how Tokka looks plus we did meet the Boxer dad. Had we not, we would never have guessed Boxer to be part of her genetic makeup. As she looks to have more Lab, Rhodesian, Visla and even some Anatolian Shepherd.

IMG_9778.JPG

When the Tokka was little she had a dark skunk-like band on her back, which has now disappeared completely. She has rare yellow/ green eyes, red colouring and a strong and agile body. My puppy is a kind, loving and playful dog. We were told her nickname was Houdini for her abilities to escape confinement. We have found her to be intelligent and determined.

IMG_5904.JPG

Out of curiosity, I have sent in her DNA to Embarkvet. After a quick search, I surmised this to be the best DNA testing company for dogs and was proven right when I lost the kit and they emailed me asking if I had any trouble testing her. I mentioned I had lost the kit and right away they send me another one. This week, we got confirmation that they have received the kit and results should be in by the end of December so stay tuned to find out exactly what her genetic makeup is.

Thanks for reading. Keep being a blessing. x

Elizabeth

Sort:  

That pup ishocute! ( ^3^)

She lights up our hearts. I am glad she lit yours too.

@el1748eth,

Beautiful pup and excellent post.

Salutations. I am JaiChai.

Delighted to make your acquaintance.

Found your post on steemitbloggers.

Upvoted and following you now.

Namaste,

JaiChai

I am happy to make your acquaintance. Who doesn't like a cute puppy right? She is a lot of fun. Thanks for stopping by. I too am following you now.

heya, fellow blogger! I love your puppy, nice to meet you as well btw,
I read somewhere you can get a dna test of your pet to see what kind of mix it is.
:) steem on,
b.a.

Nice to meet you too. We have sent her dna in and should get the results around Christmas. It will be a perfect gift for me. :}

Little Tokka has great color and beautiful eyes. I only wish I could have such an animal for emotional support.

She came at the right moment in our lives. I knew I needed a being like her for company but it came as a surprise to my husband just how much he apreciatesw her. Thanks for reading.

She loves to cuddle, which I didn't expect for such a big dog.

That's a cute dog forsure, also the first time I've seen anyone mention a small town near me in a blog pretty cool to see that.

Hello neighbour, good things happen in northern Ontario that's for sure. I didn't think anyone would know where Espanola was. I love how small the world is.

This is a really cool dog @el1748eth. I can see why you want to know the DNA makeup. I love dogs too though I don't have any at the moment. Cheers!

Btw: you are yet to tell me the hidden meaning behind your name...

#Hug-Challenge!

Ah yes, I started writing a post on it but the short of it is this. Out of frustration for trying to fit a life inside few characters, I opted for this cryptic way of writing my full name. So far, I have been known my completely different names. Elli is the name I used while modeling in Europe. Ten years later when I returned to Canada and settled in Ontario, I started to use Liz and picked up a completely different last name. Now 20 years later and still confused as to what username to use on my social media. I wanted something that would be representative of who I was and who I had become. For that it had to be something other then Elli or Liz. The idea first came to me as I was researching my native ancestry. Innu surnames used "8" instead of a "b". I then wondered if I could change enough of the letters to make up a year. Gladly the result was 1748. A year when my Metis ancestors were still active in the fur trade. 100 years before the colonization of Saguenay - Lac-St-Jean, Quebec where I was born. My mom called me Elizabeth because it means "my God is abundance". So I'm glad that the "El" portion of my username still references God. Serendipitously the other letters are "ETH", which represents my growing stake in the crypto world. ;) Now I can freely open up accounts like Telegram, Discord, Slack, Reddit, Twitter, Instagram and so on, knowing full well that this Username fits me like a glove.

Pure dopeness, no play ting when they ask what's in a name..lol

Haha. yes. totaly. I'm just glad I figured it out.

Wow! That is the most detailed thought I have seen anyone give to a username...
EL- God
1748- Your ancestry + izab
ETH- Ether + Cryptocurrency + Eternal substance

Cheers dear! You rock!!!

#Hug-Challenge!

It's pretty neat when you put it like that hey? I think I will make reference to your thoughts in my "what's in a name" post.

We feel the same way.

Just a suggestion the title could also be "Which breed does my puppy belong to?". Again this is just a suggestion and it's entirely up to you to take it or leave it. Have a nice day. Until next time keep hustling but strategically.

That's a wonderful suggestion. I used it to close my text as she is a mix breed and I am not expecting to find just one breed. I did change the title though. You were right about that. Thanks.

Your Welcome.

She is so cute. Enjoy and nice to learn that they can do an analysis to check, that is really interesting. Enjoy dogs truly bring so much happiness.

It never occurred to me how much happiness dogs carry around wherever they go. She came into our lives just when our last kid had left for college. I blessing for sure. Thank you for reading me. Blessings.

She is too gorgeous!!!! The anticipation would probably kill me.... but I suppose at the end of the day, it does not really matter - because she is who she is and you love her for that :)

Isn't see a joy? Many of my family has had their DNA tested so I understand that feeling of anticipation very well. The neat thing about the DNA testing is how we will find out if she has any potential medical conditions. Thanks for reading, Blessings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42