Working as an animal keeper -- part 1 bird

in #animals7 years ago

I had a wonderful summer internship as an animal keeper back when I was in college. It was really fun and exhausting. There is a lot of work needed to be done behind the exhibition.

There are three main types of animals in the park. Mammals, Bird and Reptiles. I will share the story about the bird today

A lonely bird

Please don't do it when you visit the park. They bite!! I was assigned to play with them cause they got lonely easily and will bite their feather. I would pick up a tiny tree branches from the ground and play with it. It usually got bored very soon. Then I would used some peanut to draw its attention.

A bird that say Hello

IMG_0469.JPG

It was pretty friendly to us and always say"Hello". There are a few birds that can say "hello" in the park but not as frequent as this one.

A bird that bite

It is a male, very protective to its colony. It didn't allow male to come into its cage. I once got into its cage to start cleaning. It was fine at first and suddenly went crazy and bite my ear that caused me to bleed. I still likeed it the most because it could recognize me and come down to play with me every time I stand outside its cage.

Please comment and upvote:)

Sort:  

you are very lucky to have such a job, so much fun

It was really fun. I thought about taking it as a long career after I graduated but it was really low-paid

btw, I am sure zoo or other park always welcome volunteer because the job is pretty demanding but not many people want it because of low salary

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68854.36
ETH 3283.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67