The time a Sea Turtle showed a thankful gesture.

in #animals7 years ago

Not all living beings have the same form of communication and I never thought I would have an experience in which a green sea turtle would approach me in an attempt to say: Thank you.

It was probably 2010 or 2011, so this is an old story. Living in Playa del Carmen, I was working as a tour guide for a one of a kind travel experience. We would ride 500hp zodiac boats to a beautiful and exclusive part of the reef that was full of sea life. Most of the time, we were lucky enough to find sea turtles swimming along the reef.

But one day, things were a bit different. While we were snorkelling, we found one of the sea turtles we usually see at the reef with a hook on its mouth and a metal fishing weight on it. (It´s important to mention that this area is "off limits" when it comes to fishing.) It honestly made me feel really angry that someone had been fishing in that area. However, I knew I had to do something about it. I swam towards the speed boat asked one of the sailors to hand me my pocket knife.

Never touch wildlife.

I know I was not supposed to ever touch wildlife and we always kept a safe distance from sea turtles, but this time I had to make an exception. I grabbed on to the fishing line and slowly approached the sea turtles mouth. It is incredible to believe, but I am sure she knew I was trying to help. The next part is not so pretty...I had to cut the metal part of the hook and the turtle freaked out and swam away as fast as you can imagine. The good thing is I was able to release the hook and the fishing weight.

We continued snorkelling on the reef for about another 15 minutes before something amazing happened.

I felt something touching my chest from underneath me and for a moment got a little scared. Soon enough I saw it was the see turtle I had just helped. For the next 10, maybe 15 minutes she swam next to us happily and even posed for the camera.

10286789_706882222683200_1506511473452852814_o.jpg

I had the feeling that was her way of saying thank you and that day created one of my favorite memories of being in the ocean.

I hope you enjoy the read and that it helps to share a bit of care for the ocean and its beautiful creatures.

Peace.

Sort:  

Playa Del Carmen is a very special place to us. Gorgeous picture. Happy to have read your article. Touching.

It was grown so much, but it is still very special. Thanks for reading. BTW, I plan to fly a drone over PDC tomorrow and post the video on steemit so people can see how HUGE this city has become. Stay tuned.

Nice picture! That water is so clear. I'd love to go visit

It is a part of the reef called "Punta Venado". You will love it.

Very nice image, they are beautiful, peaceful creatures & often up for a photo or two.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59356.21
ETH 2723.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53