Give Blood, Save a Furry Life

in #animals7 years ago

give blood.jpg

Around 18 months ago, I received a phone call from my vet. I was told: “we need help and we wonder if you agree to do us a favor. We need one of your dogs to donate blood. We have used recently our own dogs so we cannot do it again for a little while.”

Me ? Agree to this ? Are you kidding, I run to help!
I had tears in my eyes and felt put right in my element. The only question I asked was: which one do you want?

I see so much beauty in this. We save animals and now they can give back and help other dogs. I was stunned by this situation and the opportunity to be a part of it, as much as I was sorry for the unwell dog.

Dougel, the biggest of our dogs, and I jumped in the car and were in the clinic within an hour. He had to be sedated, the procedure was fast and easy, on our end. After he woke up, he was little disoriented.

BEDC4407-D2AC-4B92-A019-5AA6C79E6F30.jpg Dougle after being sedated

The transfusion went well and helped the patient. It was an elderly retriever, diagnosed suddenly with a large tumor. The dog was owned by a teenage girl, I think she was 16 and the dog was 12. He was her best friend, her sibling, her world...

The dog got better after the transfusion, went home to spend last day or two with his family, unfortunately as soon as transfused blood run out he passed away. The disease was too advanced.

We are grateful for being able to give them a little more time together.

CDC5860E-2C32-479F-A1C6-3B7DDCCC3913.jpg The towel over Dougle's head keeps him calmer....

IMG_8249.JPG
Dougle watching over unwell fellow canine. His blood is on the drip, helping the patient.

After this, I asked the vet to always call me when they are in need of blood as I love being part of such magic.
Couple weeks ago, I received another call. This time I took Dougel and his sister, Nala. Just in case they needed more blood. Dougel was chosen again as he is the biggest.

The patient was an 18 year old dog, that must had eaten something with rat poison. His blood lost ability to clot. I was explained by the vet that this is how the rat poison works. It takes good few days for it to start working in the system. It has been designed like this on purpose, rats are too clever, after seeing other rats diseased they wouldn't touch the source of poison anymore. So after few days in the system the substance starts working and the animal internally bleeds to death.

Very cruel. Think twice before using such substance, poisoned rat could be consumed by a dog, cat, or a wild bird.
We saved another life, the pooch got better and went back home with his family, unfortunately he died very soon after due to his age, 18 years old dog of roughly 30kg, is not something that you see a lot.

Week later another call and here we come again, this time Nala was the donor, and again it was rat poison…

295882EA-5E50-4AFA-8A31-6BC8E99151F0.jpg Nala's turn to donate blood. My baby girl is waking up after the sedation...

674349BD-6C20-4B5B-B8D6-205D0DB8C082.jpg Nala's life- saving blood...

The patient is back home with his very grateful family…

If you are visiting my site and reading this post, most probably you are a parent of a furry kid. Please consider your cat or dog becoming a blood donor. You will have to find out about further details at your vets. Many locations have pet blood banks, making this procedure much better. Unfortunately we do not have one, here in Ibiza.

nala and dougle.jpg

My dogs are heroes, my dogs save lives, and I am so very proud…

If you do live in Ibiza and you ever find yourself needing urgently cat or dog blood for transfusion you can count on me and my furry family, just call out loud.

Contact Clinica Veterinaria Jesus, they have 24h emergency number: +34 649 984 777, and mention my name. They know me there well, and they are the best, totally dedicated, passionate and loving towards all the furry lives. I know it's little weird but I just love going down to this clinic.

They are angels dressed in veterinary uniforms.

Are you an animal lover? Would you like to visit an amazing Animal Sanctuary in Ibiza? Or perhaps consider adopting a rescue animal? Or just simply love reading blog about our furry friends? Well, this site is perfect for you! Visit https://www.mydreamcatcher.net/furry-love/

Let's connect!

Steemit: @dianaszczepanska
website : https://www.mydreamcatcher.net
fb: https://www.facebook.com/mydreamcatcher.net/
IG: @my__dreamcatcher
Twitter: @Mydreamcatcher6
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/mydreamcatcher

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58130.32
ETH 2361.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38