The Florida Manatee pays us a visit..

in #animals7 years ago

IMG_3607.JPG

I wanted to share an awesome experience I had around this time last year. My family and I went to Islamorada for my cousin's wedding. It was quite a surprise waking up the next morning to some unexpected visitors by the docks behind our beach house.

IMG_3608.JPG

They seemed as curious about us as we were about them. I'm sure they were looking for a treat as well. It was a really cool experience. They are such beautiful creatures. They definitely live up to their "friendly sea cow" reputation. It makes me so sad that we don't do more to protect them. I'm sure all of these waterfront properties are wreaking havoc on their habitats. There were also propeller scars visible on their backs, from boat collisions no doubt. It would be great if people would be less careless when enjoying their recreational activities. You can donate or adopt-a-manatee and help contribute to their conservation. How could I not after spending such a beautiful morning with them? 😊

IMG_3610.JPG

IMG_3611.JPG

Sort:  

That's neat they wanted to come by and say hi! Reminds me of when I went kayaking and these huge sea turtles were coming up to me and hanging out.

I've only ever seen a few sea turtles scuba diving. I'd love to have more encounters with them. They're gorgeous animals!

Wow I have hardly ever seen this even in pictures. Thanks

Hello! I just upvoted you! I help new Steemit members! Upvote this comment and follow me! i will upvote your future posts! To any other visitor, upvote this post also to receive free UpVotes from me! Happy SteemIt!

Wow they just come right up to you? beautiful sea creatures, must have been amazing to be there in person.

They did. I'm guessing people feed them on occasion. I'm sure they wanted a snack.

That's amazing! I don't think I've come that close to one in the wild. That's pretty funny considering my 4 years on a ship. They have no where to go but the oceans. Since humans don't live there, we don't treat them well.

Unfortunately, a large percentage of people don't have any respect for the ocean or the creatures living in it.

good poste❤❤❤ @desertrose1218
KEEP GOING!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Nice material!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65070.55
ETH 3147.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55