My house is a zoo... literally... and I wouldn't have it any other way

in #animals7 years ago

IMG_1674.PNG

IMG_8941.JPG

This is Kylie. She's a five year old Australian shepherd and she definitely lives up to the term "Velcro dog"! She sticks to me like glue when I'm not working. I spend as much time with her as I can. She loves long hikes through the woods and early morning runs. She also keeps the cats in line whenever they choose to misbehave.

IMG_1186.JPG

IMG_9489.JPG

This is Milo and Elsa. I rescued Milo when he was a few months old. He is extremely affectionate, and he can be very persuasive when he wants your attention. Because he is so social, I decided he needed a friend. That's when little Elsa came into our lives. She's the clumsiest cat I've ever met, but she's a total sweetheart. They're now inseparable.

IMG_5661.JPG

IMG_6658.JPG

IMG_9263.JPG

They definitely have my heart 😊❤️.

IMG_4670.JPG

This is Pebbles and Bambam. They're lineolated parakeets. I found them in a dirty, old cage next to the dumpster at my last apartment complex. I was living in Nashville at the time. I couldn't believe someone would do such an awful thing. I decided then and there to take them in, and they've been spoiled rotten ever since.

IMG_1479.PNG

This is Nessie. She's a very friendly bearded dragon that I rescued a few years ago. She enjoys basking in the sun outside and watching Netflix in her free time.

IMG_1472.PNG

IMG_1477.PNG

IMG_1476.PNG

These geckos belonged to a patient that I cared for. He spent several weeks in the hospital dealing with chronic illness. After hearing about my animals and my willingness to rescue, he asked if I'd be interested in taking them in.

IMG_1477.PNG

IMG_1203.JPG

Above are ornate uromastyx and red footed tortoises. They were all in similar situations.

I absolutely love caring for all of these little guys. I wish I had the resources and the time to rescue more. It breaks my heart that there are so many discarded and neglected animals out there. I encourage anybody thinking of adopting a pet to do a lot of research beforehand. Earning an animal's trust is very rewarding, but oftentimes they are a lot of work and can be quite expensive. Rescue if you can! You won't regret it! 😊

Sort:  

That Aussie is beautiful 😍.

Wow the eyes on Elsa could freeze you in your tracks! Love the Aussie pup too :)

Thanks! Haha she knows it too. She's very full of herself. She's also very clumsy. It's pretty cute lol. They're all spoiled rotten.

I have to commend you, those reptiles are some of the healthiest looking pets I've seen in a while (and those birds are freaking gorgeous)! Just these simple photos really show off how much care you give these animals! I work at a facility that gets a lot of animal surrenders so I see a lot of instances where animals are lacking in their care; it's so encouraging to see the other side for a change! :)

Upvoted and followed!

P.S. I love the leachie!

Thank you! I've done a lot of research, but I'm always looking for more. I'm doing my best to meet all their needs. I think it's great you're working with abandoned animals. I commend you as well! I'll be following you back!

They're all wonderful, especially Kylie 😄. You take good care of them 😊

I do my best to spoil them all😉

Great one @desertrose1218..... Earning an animal's trust is very rewarding, but oftentimes they are a lot of work and can be quite expensive. Rescue if you can! You won't regret it! 😊
Upvoted and followed!

Thank you! I'll follow you as well. 😊

Nice pics! i love them! :)

I Adore Nessie!!! Love Beardies, I have one myself called Spyro! Beautiful animals, I look forward to reading more about them in the Future. Heres a follow and a vote from me, I hope you can follow back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65811.20
ETH 3178.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54