You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Beauty Stings: The Stinging Rose Moth Caterpillar

in #animals7 years ago

In the summer of where I live, we see TONS of caterpillars! Especially this one:

Here's a woolly bear life cycle:

Hatch
Start eating
Oh no it's cold
Freeze
Defrost
Yay it's warm again
Start eating
Oh no I didn't eat enough, and it's cold
Freeze
(and on, and on, and on)

Essentially they freeze themselves each winter until they've eaten enough to finally pupate! That's why some of them are HUGE where I live.

Sort:  

ooooo that one looks so fuzzy :) Does it sting?

Nope! They're safe to handle.

I used to see those when I was a kid living on the east coast.

When I was a kid, we would put some of them into a small terrarium and keep them as a class pet :P

Anything so brightly colored, means stay away in the insect kingdom. Nice post!

The Woolly Bear or the one in the main blog? The Woolly Bear is completely harmless :P

I would still touch it. It's worth it XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78