Pusskie, the Beloved Survivor, Passes Away At Age 13steemCreated with Sketch.

in #animals7 years ago

FB_IMG_1498090819031.jpg

This is Pusskie, an incredible farm cat who is dearly loved and will be missed by our family.

Pusskie survived many years living outdoors in the country. But he met his fate the other night while crossing a highway.

Pusskie lived with my Dad and Stepmother for thirteen long, fulfilling years. He spent most of his life in the Missouri outdoors, roaming the timber and chilling out on the back porch, as seen in the photo below.

20170621_193302.jpg

Pusskie, or Pussk as he was often called, was everyone's best friend. He always enjoyed a pat on the head or a belly rub. He loved the attention until he decided it was enough, then he would practically shred your hand off or attempt to remove a portion of your face!

I recall many walks through the woods, during the daytime and at night, with Pusskie following close behind. He was like a dog - always wanting to tag along on our outdoor activities. He camped down at the pond with us many nights. On the cold evenings he would sleep with me in my bus I had parked beside the pond. Some nights I would be alone, staring at a fire enjoying a brew, when suddenly I would see two small green eyes glowing in the dark. It would startle me, but I quickly realized it was Pussk coming down to sit by the fire with me.

(I wanted to include one of my favorite pictures of Pusskie tagging along with me on a winter walk through the woods, but thanks to imgsafe.org sucking and being worthless, I lost that image.)

We often worried that Pusskie would fall victim to a cougar, bobcat, or coyote.

But he was a survivor, and navigated the outdoors without a problem. It helped that he had a Great Pyrenees as a best friend, who helped to keep the wild animals away. (Again, no photo.) They were the best of companions, until "Buddy", the Great Pyrenees, fell victim to a coyote attack and died from his injuries.

Dad, who has moved to Kansas, said that he never saw Pusskie on the highway. He always stayed a safe distance away. But something lured him that direction, and in his old age perhaps, he was too slow to avoid a speeding car. He was recovered from the roadside for a proper burial.

We will always remember our Pusskie, the tough cat who survived the wild outdoors for thirteen years. He lived a good life and received a lot of love!

ID Photo (1).JPG

Sort:  

Those outdoor cats have the best of both worlds. Able to roam around and still know they have a human to feed and shelter them. They live with a wealth of confidence and contentment . following

Thanks for your comment. Other than the risks they take from being exposed to traffic, other animals, and cruel people, they do have it pretty good! Already following you :)

He always enjoyed a pat on the head or a belly rub. He loved the attention until he decided it was enough, then he would practically shred your hand off or attempt to remove a portion of your face!

Pussk knew what he wanted.

It's rough losing a pet/family member. Me and my siblings said goodbye to many a pet duck, rat, or gecko. It never gets easy.

No, goodbyes aren't easy. I wish our pets could live as long as we do.

That would be heaven.

So sorry for the loss of your beloved companion, Pusskie. You've written a wonderful tribute. It makes me feel like I got to meet him, pat his head and give him a bellyrub.

Thank you for your kind words! If you had ever rubbed his belly you might have ended up with a bloody hand! He was just that kind of cat! We loved him.

Yes, I know what you mean. As a kid, I had a big ol' tom named Spooky who adopted us. He preferred to spend most of his time outdoors but came in to be fed and have a little---very little---attention. Three pats on the head was the limit---after that you'd get a swat with claws extended. Loved him anyway. Hope you will be comforted knowing you gave Pusskie a great life. Maybe someday a new feline friend will come along.

Thank you. They always seem to come out of nowhere. I'm not sure if they are abandoned by someone, or just wander away from home, but stray cats end up where they are loved and have food and shelter. I like that name, Spooky, too!

I hope Pusskie had a fulfilling life with you and your family. Btw he looks super angry in the second photo

Hi @pearica, I'm @countryinspired 's sister. I took both of these photos of Pusskie. He LOVED to pose for the camera, lol! He would always look right at you. I like the second photo because it looks like he's wanting to shake your hand. :) He's saying "Hi, I'm Pusskie. Nice to meet you."

Aww, you're right! He has his paw out :)

He was always a happy cat, until you rubbed his belly too long!

So happy you dedicated a post to him! Pusskie will go down as one of the best cats ever. So friendly and loving. It just won't be the same without him tagging along after us.

Yeah, he left an impression on everyone.

Thanks for sharing.

They got to live the good life in the countryside.

You bet -- country life is the best life!

Old man cat xD

For an outdoor cat surviving the elements, he was very old :)

love the cat :) you should protect her from everything :)
go go Pusskie

We always had cats when I was young, great animals to have around the home

Yes they are! I, too, grew up with cats. That's why I still love them.

So sorry, @countryinspired, to hear of Pusskie's passing. I'm glad he had y'all.

Thank you, @aunt-deb! He knew he was loved.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61478.26
ETH 3385.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52