My First Day Working For SBD

in #animals7 years ago

Today I spent three hours at @tarc and got paid for it! Last week, I agreed to work for SBD or STEEM, and even though I don't have my Bitpay card yet (they're back-ordered or some silly thing,) the transfers came through the rescue account and the director's account, and ended up in my pocket! So, to everyone who gave to help make this possible: THANK YOU! It worked out great. I got to spend the day with animals I've loved very much for a long time, and still earned as much as I would working those same hours at a regular part-time job.

The photo above is of me and a dog who is very special to me. E.J. was one of the first completely unsocialized dogs I ever helped rehabilitate. The shelter had to sedate him to get him out of their kennel and into TARC's transport vehicle. He was so scared he would have bitten someone. Once we got to the rescue with him, I was first in the kennel to help him recover from sedation, and by the time he could sit up without wobbling, he trusted me enough to let me pet him. Over the weeks and months, E.J. and I formed a special bond. He's still here in rescue because it has taken a long time to get him ready for adoption. He's ready now for a family of his own, but it will break my heart to see him go.

I spent my time at the rescue today cleaning the upstairs. These dogs have decent house manners and, even though the entire facility is set up for dogs and not for humans, upstairs has a more "homey" feel. These are fully vaccinated, crate-trained dogs who can be on regular hardwood floors without fear of a disease outbreak. Here is a picture of me cleaning the gazebos, which are wonderful little exercise pens donated to TARC last year by Mary's Dogs Rescue of New Hampshire.

Below is a picture of these little gazebos all clean and spiffy with cardboard floor liners donated to the rescue by Burke's Outlet of Bluefield, Virginia. Cardboard pads the floor to make it soft for little paws, is very absorbent and much sturdier than newspapers or even puppy pads, and it's completely nontoxic if ingested. Dogs who stay in these gazebos get to have a bunkmate, because they've proven that they can eat together and play together without fighting.

From there, I moved on to the upstairs porch. We had some moments. LOL

Overall, it was a great day. From the bottom of my heart, I hope that Steemit is able to make this possible on a long-term basis. It's good for the rescue, good for the animals, and good for me. Good for Steemit, too, because if this kind of initiative is successful, it will draw some attention to the platform!

To see my introduction post that talks about working IRL for SBD, please click HERE.

Sort:  

So happy to have you, Cherie! :-)

Makes me smile to see you there, and I know how much help you are to @tarc. Looking forward to seeing more about the critter-folk!

That's an awesome thing, helping the animals, and also awesome working for SBD as well...! Very cool! pink_smile.gif #teamgirlpowa

I am adding this to my #charityweekly list to support soon - great initiative!

A good cause doing great work. Keep us posted how they all do.

I am so happy that Rhonda and the dogs have someone who cares to help them. I fully understand needing to have some income and being unable to donate all your time. I really hope this works out!

The smile on the big puppy... I know dogs don't smile with their face but I'm going to believe he's smiling.

Actually, you might be happy to know some research has happened recently that proves dogs do understand facial expression and use it to get what they need. :-)

Aww that's so adorable! So happy that it worked out for you and you got to help the dogs as well. :)

This is awesome for Tarc, Rhonda and her menagerie.

This great Cherie. Love the update. Seeing it work is very cool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44