A View into a Tiny World - Close Up Videos of Wild Ant Colonies

in #animals7 years ago

While camping, I came across these two ant species by two ponds. They were on some sandy area in between the two ponds. I couldn't help but record some of their activities.


Possibly Lasius sp.

These ants had the standard ant hill type structures. They were scattered around the area. The ants were small in size, but probably the regular size when looking at other Lasius and "pavement ants".


Possibly Formica sp.

These ones had a very large mound with several holes. The ants themselves were rather large for anything I have seen in Michigan.

Sort:  

awesome post/pictures :) @cfreidsma

Glad you liked them :)

It is a wondrous world

A world that I find myself lost in way too often.

One thing not shown in the videos is the fact that lightning got really close to. Made me pack the camera up pretty quickly.

Lo que mas me llama la atención es su forma tan organizada de recolectar su alimento y poder cargar hasta tres veces su peso

Good

Nice follow me back @zuric

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43