Stepped Out My Door and Saw This Little Guy

in #animals7 years ago

I recently bought a new house, and yesterday afternoon while coming out of the door of my new place, I saw this little guy right in my front yard. He was no more than 8 – 10 feet away, and just kind of looking at me. He was obviously skittish (note the tucked in tail), and didn't come any closer. When I tried to approach him, he walked away, not very fast but quick enough that he soon disappeared behind my neighbor's bush.

I followed him for a little bit, and I even tried to take some video, but he was too far away for it to really look any good. At any rate, I needed to leave and didn't have time to try to entice him back (if there is even a way to do that). Who knows, maybe I'll see him again some day.

(I've been saying "he" and "him," but I don't really know if it was male or female. I did a quick search online to see if there's an easy way to tell, but the consensus is that you can only tell by inspecting the genitalia, and I didn't have a chance to do that, of course.)

I suspect the little guy was there to eat something tasty growing in my yard. The previous owners haven't mowed the grass at all this year, and I haven't had a chance to take care of it myself, either. My guess is that he'll be back again if the eats are good enough. But maybe once I mow that likelihood will diminish.

Although cute, I've heard that deer tend to destroy gardens. I don't have a garden, but you never know. There is a wooded hill behind my house, and while I wouldn't have thought it was big enough to be home to any deer, I guess perhaps I was wrong.

At any rate, here are a few more pictures I was able to snap before he took off.


Recent Posts


Follow Curtis Follow Bookdotes

Sort:  

Your new neighbor Bambi)

That little guy is super cute! Hope it didn't get lost and is without a mother :o That would make it a real life Bambi!

That's so cute! And you have a nice front-yard :) So green! Thanks for sharing! Upvoted :)

I want one in my garden, sooooo cute!

I think he will be back:)

It is super cute and with beautuful natural background

That's so cool, something I could never see living in a busy town!
And it was really in your garden :D

Real life Bambi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44