You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to De-Skunk a Dog: I’ve Been Doing It All Wrong

in #animals6 years ago

I can confirm that the hydrogen peroxide, baking soda and dish soap (I used Dawn brand) method works. I know from experience...

I came home one night a few years back, a little tipsy after the bar, and took my boxer mix Bash out for a walk. In the darkness he went for something in the bushes but I didn't pay any mind to it, figured it was a neighborhood cat. We hopped into bed (my dog sleeps in the bed with me) and I noticed something was off. We frequently have skunks around our house, with the smell entering through the open windows, so the smell is not all that uncommon. I thought nothing of it and closed the windows.

The next morning I awoke feeling nauseous with a throbbing headache as I looked over at my dog, blissfully asleep. The smell of the skunk had worsened. I quickly recalled the events of the night before. Then it hit me, we'd been skunked! I may have been a little more than tipsy because I didn't put two and two together. I reluctantly leaned over to smell my dog and nearly puked...

I scoured the internet and found a similar recipe for this deskunking solution and applied it liberally on my dog's coat as suggested here and waited a few minutes. It GREATLY reduced the odor and kept me from banishing my poor pup to the outdoors. It's not a miracle worker though as you will still have a slight skunky odor for days or weeks, but it is much more manageable than if you used a different deodorizing method! Now if anyone has a method for getting that smell off of fabrics, I'd gladly upvote!

Here's Bash at full derp. Does Steemit have love for boxers?
bashderp.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51