These Animals are No Longer at the Cincinnati Zoo~Bears and Elephants Do Best In the WildsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #animals6 years ago

CinZoo3 001.jpg

Here I can show you some pictures of the animals that are most likely gone from the zoo due to the fact that they probably have already died by now. I took these pictures back in 1987 on one of my many vacations. One place I have always liked to go when in Cincinnati or any city for that matter.

CinZoo4 001.jpg

CinZoo1 001.jpg

The Cincinnati Zoo and Botanical Garden is located in Cincinnati Ohio and is the second oldest zoo in the United States. It opened in 1875. The collection of animals was very small just starting out. The zoo consisted of one tiger, eight monkeys, six raccoons, two elk, one buffalo, one hyena, one alligator, two grizzly bears, one circus elephant, and over four hundred birds which included a talking crow. The zoo was located near the center of the city on 65 acres.

In 1987 the zoo was named as a national historic landmark because of the architecture that was featured in the elephant house, the reptile house, and the passenger pigeon memorial.

CinZoo6 001.jpg

CinZoo7 001.jpg

The Cincinnati Zoo and Botanical Garden has been the breeding grounds for a very long time for the trumpeter swans and sea lions starting back in the 1880s. To strengthen the success of the breeding tradition, the Lindner Center for Conservation and Research of Endangered Wildlife was founded in 1986. The zoo is an international leader in the propagation and protection of endangered animals from all over the world.

CinZoo5 001.jpg

CinZoo1 001.jpg

CinZoo2 001.jpg


Please vote, comment, follow, resteem..........Thank You<<<<<<

Please Note:All of my pictures and videos are my own, unless otherwise stated, either taken with my digital camera Kodak 14MP, or an actual picture from my huge collection for many years that I have scanned to my computer to use. I use Magix Photostory Deluxe for creating videos.

Information on the History of the zoo: Quora.com

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE:
~My Crazy Cats Video

Sort:  

It would be interesting to know if there are more animals then or now. Those that you photographed surely are gone now.

Oh they most definitely have more now. In the 1800s they just had a few animals. The zoo has been built a lot bigger now.

💖

Congratulations on your win with @leeart's contest. I also enjoyed this article. I love the pictures. And I agree that most of those animals aren't there anymore. However it make me wonder if their children are? Thanks for sharing friend. I hope you had a good weekend. I will see you around.

Oh wow!! I appreciate the win!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66436.09
ETH 3439.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65