Building a Small Farm - Owl Nesting Boxes

in #animals7 years ago

Steemit.JPG

One of the things I've LOVED since being a very small child is nature. Some of my first memories of those out collecting caterpillars, or trying to grab grasshoppers on the lawn, or having found some ladybirds, having them lay eggs all over the plants on my bedroom windowsill. So, naturally, when it comes to the farm, I want to encourage as much biodiversity as possible.

In the UK, owls are a particular conservation concern. We have five main species here - Barn Owl, Tawny Owl, Little Owl, Short-Eared Owl and Long-Eared Owl, the latter of which is rather scarce. There have also been recent signs of Eagle Owls as climate change and alternating migration patterns bring these giant birds of prey into British shores.

I would LOVE to have every species on the farm (we, aside from Eagle owls as they'd eat everything in sight). So far on my camping/work trips I've heard tawny owls and have been very lucky to watch a pair of barn owls swooping over the fields as they catch mice, voles and any other little edible creature. Barn owls are very vulnerable to road traffic accidents, however, due to the low flying nature.

In fact, it was reported at the turn of the century that 50% of recorded deaths was because of traffic.

And that was almost 20 years ago, what about now?

One of the answers to is to border major roads with high hedges, meaning that owls have to increase their flight path and are less likely to get struck by traffic. In addition, it's crucial to create as many nesting and hunting sites as possible...and that's where one of my projects comes in.

Owl Nesting Box Project



My owl nesting box project was started as a crowdfunding campaign. I bought one nestbox, and then successfully funded another four - FIVE nest boxes in total. I was totally thrilled. In addition, thanks to Patreons of my YouTube channel, the funding for this project (and others) continues.

The first nestbox was popped high into an oak tree that borders the wildflower meadow - a perfect habitat for owl prey.

104.JPG

066.JPG

072.JPG

098.JPG

So far, I don't think the boxes have been used to rear chicks. There HAVE been barn owls in the vicinity as I found owl pellets beneath the nesting box. These were soaked and broken open to investigate the contents. By using good 'ol Google, it seems almost certain that these WERE barn owl pellets as opposed to tawny owls.

However, it's illegal to disturb barn owl nesting sites during the breeding season without a licence. So as I don't yet have one of these, I've left everything quiet and not yet checked the box. It's been up 18 months now, so for two breeding seasons. This winter I'm going to take the ladder up to the farm and have a little nosy inside and see if anything has happened.

Hopefully in the future we'll have many owlets to come, can get them ringed by an official society and help preserve this beautiful species!

Thanks for reading,
Geoff


THANKS FOR READING - PLEASE CONSIDER UPVOTING, RESTEEMING AND REPLYING BELOW

You can find me on YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and Patreon

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

WOW! that is the neatest thing I have seen!
I used to have bat houses when I lived up north before; only to keep them out of my attic- had one too many bats in the house.

But an owl nesting box! Cool!

They're really needed over here because we've stripped so many of their natural sites away. So my aim is to encourage as many pairs onto the farm that the land can sustain! I want to do bat boxes too - another mammal over here that needs a lot of conservation help.

I'm desperate for the day I can make a YouTube video showing cute baby owlets getting ringed!

I am deathly afraid of bats but when I know they are part of our eco-environment, I let them stay. Just not in my house!
We used to have a system when a bat was in the house. My son got the broom, his hockey mask and the BBQ mits while I had the other broom and we would try to shoo him out the door. My oldest daughter would have the tongs and another pair of gloves on. We were quite the sight!

Haha! That would make QUITE the comedy sketch.

Great project that assists the wildlife, I imagine it won't be long before you have a regular owl nesting. My neighbor put one up in his Oak tree and the first summer a real pretty owl claimed his spot. It never reared chicks though but like hanging out in it. Good luck!

Thanks! There's definitely owls about so only a matter of time. I find them such magnificent creatures so anything I can do to help I'll try.

Nesting habitat for preditory birds is essential for a balanced ecosystem.

Luckily, preditory birds are plentiful in my part of the world.

They used to be here but not so much now. We have a nesting pair of buzzards too which is pretty cool.

Love this. Climbing a tree. LOL Your not scared of heights.

Nope. And I've always had pretty good spatial awareness and balance which helps with tree climbing. :D

Please just be safe, I value your contribution in our homestead community!

We should care the birds specially the bats as say goldendawne, in our case we have an abandoned house and inside the bats are living.
Good iniciative best regard @galberto

That's great you've got a colony of bats!

This is amazing! Thank you for helping native wild species! Have you thought about setting up remote cameras in the boxes? Hopefully some chicks soon :)!

I would LOVE to have cameras but theres no wifi to transmit pics though so I'd have to use battery motion sensor ones or something for now.

I have a Ltl Acorn Trail camera that is amazing for camera trapping animals! Just takes 12 batteries lol :)

12 batteries!!! I would like to get a little motion sensor one. Could be handy for when im camping to see what's scurrying around.

Really enjoyed the post, good luck with the project. lovely birds

Fantastic project, best of good luck with its success!
I don't think I've seen or heard an owl of any kind for decades. Very sad.
We have a native owl - the Morepork (Ruru, in Maori).

Just looked it up - what a pretty little owl.

I hadn't seen one in years until I started visiting the farm and was so inspired to see the barn owls at dusk. Beautiful sight.

Great to read about your project and lovely to find someone gardening/homesteading with biodiversity in mind here in the UK. Look forward to reading more of your posts.
It's so true what you say about barn owls on the road. I've often seen them hunting the verges on the roadsides and they sort of flip from side to side across the road - almost hunting both sides simultaneously but crossing the road at windscreen height as they do it. :( Hopefully a hunting strategy that will be quickly be naturally selected out.

I know. It's not a good strategy when it comes to roads. :(

Gotta try and protect our native species!

We did bat houses growing up, the owls just lived in the barn and they were not really a problem. Great job and good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50