The Amazing Honey Bee -- Part 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #animals7 years ago

Honeybeeyardsteemit.jpg

Did You Know?

Did you know the honey bee's wings stroke over 11,000 times per minute? This is what causes the distinctive buzzing sound you hear when they fly by.

Keeping Bees

Have you ever been interested in keeping bees? There are many great resources to learn about how to keep bees. A couple of my favorite books are a book called Keeping Bees by John Vivian and a book called The Beekeeper's Bible by Richard Jones and Sharon Sweeney-Lynch. Both of these books go beyond just keeping bees and actually share why the authors love bees.

To get started keeping bees is a simple process.

First, you need to find out whether you are allowed to in your area. If you are allowed to, you then need to find out if you need a special license.
Second, you need to purchase or build a hive for your bees to live in.
Third, you need to find a colony of bees. This can be purchased or found in the wild. I have found a few wild colonies over the years, but I will tell you that purchasing a colony is much easier and less time consuming.

I realize this simplifies the process by quite a bit. There are many other things to do to get ready to keep you bees. Like most things, it just takes a decision to do it and then steady, consistent action to move towards your goal. Kind of like the bees when they are collecting honey. They each only collect a tiny amount, but by working on collection all day every day, they slowly gather enough honey to provide a fun snack for you and I.

Happy beekeeping.

Follow and Learn

Follow me for more honey bee facts and beekeeping tips.

Sort:  

Hello @bigpanda,

I am always impressed by the work ethic of honey bees and how well they work together to build strong communities and honor the queen.

We can learn a lot by watching the simple things of nature.

@bigpanda I would love for you to check out my blog and see the work I have been doing.

I look forward to your upcoming posts!
Best,
Isaac

Bees are amazing, aren't they @isaac.rodebush . I will go and check out your blog right now.

i was telling a story about bees earlier at the office... and i found this post.... amazing...

i saw someone selling honeybee at the market... with the bee hives... i was so amazed by how those tiny bees create such wonderful hives and honey....

i always have honey for the salad... vinegar and honey....
just sharing...

Honey and vinegar on a salad sounds delicious. Definitely going to try that.

yes... its good combination...

Keeping bees is definitely something I will be doing at one point in my life!

It feels like contributing to nature, for the greater good. Which is what we are supposed to do as shepherds on this earth

I agree. Not only is it a fun hobby, but it helps the plants and trees.

Congratulations @bigpanda! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I am hoping to get some Bees here in Costa Rica... I have heard there are some lovely little stingless bees - I'll post how I get on shortly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64