The Three StrayssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #animals7 years ago

Meet Bear, Patches and Skittles a.k.a Skids.

Bear.

This old man loves his shredded chicken and rice.

Previously a pet to someone down the street. This old boy is about 12 years old and spent much of his younger days in a small, cemented cage *outside* his owner’s home. The cage had a roof and solid sides, but Bear would still get wet when it rained or suffer the Malaysian Sun when it didn’t. A few in our neighbourhood tried calling the local SPCA to be told because he is being fed, has sufficient water and shelter with room for him stand, turn and lay down, there were no grounds for rescue. Despite constantly having to spend his days confined to a small space and getting walked once a week.

Long story short, I guess his owners grew tired of having him and let him roam free about 5 years ago. I’ve never seen him happier. Some were uncertain about him and he wasn’t open to strangers but, who could blame him. Today he is always trying to rub his face against mine and can’t stand baggy pants, he will pull them off you.

Patches.

First to howl her way into our lives. I had come home to visit my parents in 2012 and while unloading my bags at 3 a.m., this cutie stands in my driveway shy and hungry. I fed her leftovers and we’ve been friends since. She howls hello, and when she’s happy which is usually at the scent of chicken or someone she likes. Patches and Bear make their own pack and ‘guard’ our side of the neighbourhood from ‘bad guys’ and unfriendly strays. Forever chilling on our porch, they back rubbed and googley-eyed their furry faces into Mum and Dad’s hearts in my absence.

I returned to visit in 2014, and there was Skittles.

Skids.

She was only a puppy and reminds me so much of Bambi. Awkward and clumsy, but so adorable. Skids would run so fast she couldn’t stop and would skid across the tiled driveway - over, and over again. Those bat ears only add to her charm.

Animals rights are not acknowledged this side of the world and society isn't taught differently either. Malaysia is a multicultural, liberal, predominantly Muslim country where dogs are considered 'haram' (forbidden or proscribed by Islamic law). I understand that this isn't the case in other Muslim countries and am not sure why it is in Malaysia. There exists a strange stigma against dogs and they are typically avoided. Although there are many cat and dog lovers, most opt for a special breed leaving many strays on the streets. There are too many for local rescue centres to accommodate and the numbers just grow.

It's great to note that our neighbours, having seen the affection and understanding they pose no danger now take care of them too! I’m often away and although my parents feed them meals every day, they can’t exactly keep an eye on them 24/7.
Case in point: Bear developed an awful rash that turned into sores on his back. I used alcohol wipes, antibiotic sprays and creams, but what he really needed was a good bath. I couldn’t bathe him myself and he wouldn’t get into a car for me to take him to the vet/groomers. I wasn’t even sure if he would trust anyone else to help. I went away on a dive trip for a couple weeks and came home to rash/sore free healthy Bear! One of the neighbours had taken him in and the couple bathed and treated Bear’s wounds. Imagine that!

One of my favourite things to do with my posse? Walk the neighbourhood when the world's asleep. Skids is usually far ahead distracted, Patches dutifully stays by my side and Bear hovers behind seemingly ‘on guard’ and in control. Any stranger, stray cat or dog gets a warning. Oh, and they love when we go for runs! I never have to worry who may be lurking in the shadows. In a town with the highest level of crime, these three keep the neighbourhood (and me) safe when not bowling me over with love. No one's ever happier to see me.


If you're thinking of getting a pet, adopt a stray! Puppy mills are awful and strays need a loving forever home. If you can't, see about fostering strays in your area. Food can get expensive, so perhaps gather a group of like-minded individuals and take turns buying food and feeding. It is humbling what a little love and kindness can do for an animal, and incredible how healing their affection in return. Unconditional love is after all, pure energy. Animals are amazing! 💖

Sort:  

Love this article!!!!! Well done !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61358.50
ETH 3378.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52