'A Dog is for life, not just for Christmas!' - Still True...

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

Please do not buy a puppy as a Christmas Gift!

Back to serious mode I am afraid! I come across so many sad stories working with dog shelters, especially at this time of year. Many dogs are abandoned just before Christmas to make room for new puppies.

puppy.jpg
(source www.unplash.com)

There are also lots of people buying puppies as gifts, then get rid of them after the Christmas period for really silly reasons, but none are as silly as buying a puppy as a gift in the first place.

I have heard them all...’my wife is allergic, their teeth are too sharp, they ate my expensive shoes...’ These are all excuses in my eyes and anyone buying a puppy should know this information before hand.

If you are serious about buying a puppy, do your research first and wait until you are back into a normal routine. Better still, go rescue a dog from a shelter. Some of the dogs really struggle in kennels at this time of year, they could use a comfy forever sofa and you will get the support needed from the shelter to make sure the match is right.

Dogs can live for a very long time! My beautiful Spaniel, Rusty was 11 years old yesterday and has many years left in her yet!

rusty.JPG

The old saying, ‘A Dog is for Life, Not Just for Christmas’ is still valid today. Please, Please, Please! Think twice, three times and more about buying a puppy at Christmas time!

sasha1.JPG

Please could I ask a favor? If you agree with this message, please could you Upvote and Resteem this blog so that we can send this message far and wide. Many thanks for your support. @beautifulbullies xx

Sort:  

So true!! I would love to have a German Shepherd someday but I have to be realistic and wait until my kids aren't so young. If we adopted a dog now he or she just wouldn't be loved properly just because I'm so busy with my kids all the time. Dogs are a lot of work!! (Unlike cats where you just clean their litter box and feed them...maybe we'll start with a cat lol)

lol yes, cats are so much easier to look after! I was brought up with cats, but I don't have any now. I think my dogs would be too scared of them haha

yep, well said ! it's just not right

Thank you. Yes, I feel quite passionate about this subject as there are so many that are abandoned at this time of year, it is awful

resteem and upvote complate

Thank you so much, lets hope the message is spread far and wide!

Yes thats true. They do it also with cats :( Pets should be a life companion and not just for a short period. They are also like us and get attached to the owner. It is very sad to abandon them after loving you and build a strong relation.

absolutely. The animals do not understand why they have been abandoned, it is heartbreaking :(

Many dogs are abandoned just before Christmas to make room for new puppies.

Are you serious what kind of mindless idiot does this O_o

goatsig

Unfortunately many more than I would have thought possible! But it is sadly true, all to often :(

It is a sad truth, I will resteem, maybe your post will make people think about their behaviour.

Thank you, I am hoping this message will make people think more before they make a bad decision.

A topic close to my heart @beautifulbullies An owner of six beautiful dogs over the past 40 years and crushed when they passed on.

No present should ever be given without a lot of thought, when it it an animal even more so, they don't deserve it.

Absolutely! They are innocent beings and people shouldn't treat them as throw away objects. Thank you for your support and I am so sorry for your losses. I lost my boy almost a year ago and I still cry when I think of him

I can only relate to it being like a volcanic eruption tearing through your heart when they don't get the time we would dearly love them to have.

Yes all of mine still bring tears welling up when I think of them individually, something happens and triggers a thought, memories are forever.

All my fur babies are with my until they or I die, whichever one comes first... So glad to see you making people aware of this issue!

my lovely dogs... love you so much ; )

I always admire your post articles for you is very good, I will wait for your post and read it

Glad you like them, please spread the message about this one though, it is more important than any of my other posts

yes i will share it, best regards from @ferybae

thank you I appreciate it :)

Thank you again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66512.58
ETH 3313.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68