A mythical intriguing discovery

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

I was busy doing research on different countries and their different national animals (it is for a lesson with my little ones)

I know which animal and flower and tree etc is my country's national symbol but I wanted to show the kids that all countries have their own national symbols.

And then I found this very intriguing information...Scotland's national animal is..... wait for it....... THE UNICORN!!

                                                       

image source


How cool and unexpected is that?

I thought this must be one of those moment on Google that you just say whatever and scroll on, but I wanted to know more on how the Unicorn became the national animal of Scotland in the 1300's.

Elyse Waters, a historian, actually dicovered a medieval cookbook with instruction on how to cook a Unicorn (eeeeeek!!! take that recipe inventors....I will not try to make it - quite sure my family will go hungry!)

Some of the reasons for the Unicorn becoming the national animal was

  • The Unicorn was believed to be the natural enemy of the lion (this was also the symbol England adopted) ...enough said.....
  • There are also stories of the snake poisoning the water and the Unicorn purifying it for all the other animals by putting its horn in the water.
  • In Medieval times there was also a lot of focus on chivalry  and the Unicorn became the ultimate symbol for this.

                                                                

image source

The Unicorn was believed to be real about 2 500 years ago (so sorry, no use you go and search for it now) and it was adopted by Scotland's King Robert in the late 1300's as the national animal.

There are lots and lots of information on Unicorns and the uses of their horns and believes and disbelieves, myths and jokes, so I think at the end it is still up to you if you believe they ever existed (or still do) or not.

I just think, Scotland you are brave to have the Unicorn as your national animal - I am sure some people laugh behind your back, but I say why not?  Such a beautiful mythical creature deserves to be mentioned.

If you are in search of this beast and cannot find it, you always have the option to dress your cat up as a unicorn.....

                                                                               

image source

PS - If you are from Scotland, please do not throw me with stones if I am wrong on any of this - remember the chivalry of the Unicorn :)

Sort:  

Perhaps unicorns exist))

Perhaps they do....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42