How can I be a Vegetarian in a culutre that honors meat

in #animals7 years ago

To tell my grand mother that I dont eat meat is an abnormally to her. "Ten Years ago, you were consuming meat; Cow meat, Goat meat and this your new thing , you have been doing for the past four years, Is just plain madness. How can you be an African and dont eat meat? She laments. Is true before I ate meat but now, after understanding the ecological , environmental implication of such way of Life , I decided to become a vegetarian. Its not easy. Everybody and every food here is prepare with meat or most of it . When I visit people, is difficult for me cause I cant eat because the food is all meat inclusive. When I tell people am a vegetarian, they say you mean you are sick- for that's the only reason why you cant eat Achu. which cow meat is a central part. No no the only reason am not eating is because, I think by not doing so, am raising my voice in the protection of the endangered species of animals in the world, Some have told me, its a white man thing or only Europeans and Americans should be vegetarians. My position is as we keep copying the west, we copy their materialistic tendencies, this of course we view as enlighthened, sorry , it is not Europe and American mostly have lost its soul and we Africans cannot copy them or follow them but we follow them anyways and the one thing that will protect the universe,that the west is doing we do not want to copy.Africa must do preemptying, thats why Africans must change their diet now and become vegetarian, We should not wait for us too ,to lose our Soul and then we start looking for means to gain back our nature, Now is the time. Grandma, am doing it for the future, Am sure posterity will say we did well to adstent from meat so as to protect nature.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55214.91
ETH 2471.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24