You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cats, Dogs and Chickens - Are They Compatible?

in #animals6 years ago (edited)

Interesting post! I have cats, chickens and now a dog (my daughter got a german shepard pup this past summer). My cats and chickens all got along just fine. Even the chicks my hens hatched were untouched by all the kitties I had (I am down to one kitty due to the others passing away from age and one died thanks to a diaphramatic hernia). Enter German Shepard Pup who decides not only cats are to be chased, but chickens too. So now the hens must stay in their fenced in yard, and now I cannot let them out to pasture at all. The main threat to the chickens when they were outside of their yard is the neighborhood red tail Hawk. Now add dog as a threat. So I limited the pasturing in late afternoon which really did eliminate any hawk attacks. Now, I have to reconfigure fencing to allow some of my birds out this year to get grass as I have no idea yet on how to train the new dog NOT to chase them....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54441.42
ETH 2433.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14