Photo of the day in Antarctica ~ Humpback fluke

Cuverville Island never seems to disappoint with Humpback whale encounters, as there always tends to be quite a few right next to the Island along the edge of a small shelf. We typically have a combination of various encounters from lunge and bubble net feeding, resting and playful curiosity.

The money shot of course is the beautiful image of the humpback arching its back and presenting its fluke out of the water just prior to disappearing to the depths in search of food.


IMG_7031.jpg

Click Image to view full size.


Got any questions for me whilst I am working away down in Antarctica??? Feel free to leave some in the comments below and I shall do my best to get to them as soon as I have reliable internet service!!!


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed: https://www.instagram.com/thomas_mitchell2912/

Sort:  

Whoa! Outstanding image. That must've been quite an experience to see that up close like that.

Wow! You are fortunate to be working in Antarctica. This is an amazing photo!

like me please

I don't follow or up vote people that beg. If you want followers and up votes on your comments make them meaningful. Spam will get you nowhere on Steemit.

Humpback whale - humpback is very large and interesting animal. Watch them curiously. Have you enjoyed the Antarctic trip?

They are one of my favourite animals to interact with. I spent about 3 and half months down in Antarctica and it was amazing. I hope I get the chance to get down there in 8 months to spend more time down there

Hey @thomasjmitchell whatsup...?
Just amazing shot...!!!
really really nice photo. You are a genius. Keep capturing dear. followed you.
I am also photographer but only hobby and I took photo with my mobile. so it might be nit cool as you but you are invited to my blog please.....

Just amazing shot... GooD jOb

Are you down there... Tell us is it flat or round

Nice photograph and the antartica is a avesome country

Wish I could of been there to take that shot myself.

Nice animal photography

Nice photo! It's been a while since I saw a photo of a whale. I think it would be better if you were able to get more shots of it but this one definitely is a good shot. Thanks for sharing it Thomas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44