My photo of the day~ Fledging Gentoo Penguin

Only a few weeks ago the chicks at the penguin breeding colonies were small and under their parents for protection against predators. The main predator being the Skua that constantly circled above their heads in anticipation of a tasty meal of a baby penguin chick. However, they are all starting to grow up now and are going through a process known as ”fledge”. This is where the baby chicks lose their baby coat and their adult plumage is revealed. It is also quite amusing to see, as they are all at different stages of this fledge process.


“It seems to me that the natural”l have often had the impression that, to penguins, man is just another penguin - different, less predictable, occasionally violent, but tolerable company when he sits still and minds his own business.”
- Bernard Stonehouse


IMG_5993.jpg

Click image to view full size.


Got any questions for me whilst I am working away down in Antarctica??? Feel free to leave some in the comments below and I shall do my best to get to them as soon as I have reliable internet service!!!


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed: https://www.instagram.com/thomas_mitchell2912/

Sort:  

What type of accommodation do you have in Antarctica and how do you travel around to different areas?

I am on a ship that cruises up and down the peninsula. So my accommodations are on the ship, which are quite comfortable and I do share with other expedition staff. once we are at a landing area or an area of interest we lower small zodiacs and explore

Lol just googled zodiacs as I had no idea what they were, do you take photos from them or walk onto the ice? I think a lot of us must have no concept of how these photos come together.

Good photo, and interesting the habitat of them, has always called my attention how their organism gives them to tolerate those high temperatures

The detail of the penguin is so clear, it's like I can feel the texture of its feathers. Were you up close to this little guy or did you use a telephoto lens?

I do have a telephoto lens. I use a canon 100-400mm with a canon 7D body

Writing beautifully your blog
222.jpg

Amazing.looks very uncommon.thank you.go on.keep sharing

thanks! I shall do my best to keep them coming when I have internet access

nice content and photographs, Awesome to see you always, thank you for that great work your ever doing on @steemit

Wow! I'm amazed :)

beautifull bird i like it . its breed is not found in my country

Amazing my friend, good job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66269.64
ETH 3568.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.06