Australian reptiles

What I am quickly remembering about the wildlife in Australia is that their is quite the population abundance of reptiles. Snakes can be quite common - however, the more obvious is the lizards. Typically, basking on a log or in plain open sight enjoying the hot sun.

This little guy was not concerned about me what-so-ever and kept basking in the glorious midday sun, as I snapped a few photos of him. Something other than marine mammals to put up on Steemit for once…


IMG_8087.jpg
Click image to view full size


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Sort:  

not quite - I reckon he is way better than Gordon Gecko

That's what I was thinking.

Nice photo! Upvoted :-)
Please check also my dog pictures at @dogimage

Nice pic @thomasjmitchell ! You caught his head just right so that the backdrop allows for nice contrast against the light silhouette of his head

I met up with many litle dragons in the Roma Gardens in Brisbane when I was visiting my sister there in 2016. Also very chilled they were

He was quite the co-operative model. Roma Gardens are a great place to visit in Brisbane

Yea the beardies there roam quite freely! I did enjoy the Botanical Gardens more - Roma is better for just strolling but not for cycling

Is it a poisonous animal? Do they harm a person?

It is not poisonous. It is a small lizard and its no threat to a human

Wooowwww.... It is cool..

Nice creature

This post has received a 21.12 % upvote from @boomerang.

Looks cool, but animals like these I have to view from a distance. I just get too creeped out by them!

this is true for many people. they are pretty cute though when you get use to them :)

Excellent image Thomas! I'm not too familiar with Australian reptiles but I'm pretty sure this is a male Eastern Water Dragon (Intellagama lesueurii). Good find ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75