Sandhill Cranes

Sandhill Crane Couple

CraneCouple.jpg

This Sandhill crane couple were residents at Crystal Lake in Mims, Florida. While most Sandhills are migratory, some are not and stay permanently in Florida. Cranes mate for life.

Most Sandhill cranes live in freshwater wetlands. They eat plants, grains, mice, snakes, insects, or worms. They often dig in the soil for tubers and can sometimes cause significant crop damage.

All photos and text in my posts are my original work.

Please visit my galleries on the following sites:

https://society6.com/rogerwedegis
https://pixels.com/profiles/roger-wedegis.html

Enjoy!

Roger

Sort:  

I always notice these guys together in at least a pair.

If you see three together Then it's probably a couple with their baby. The baby stays with them until it is full grown.

Love these babies. So fun to watch them at the campground!

Wow! This is so lovely!

Thank you for your comment!

I love Sandhill Cranes! I love seeing interest in the world around us from people like you.

Thank you for your comment!

Amazing photograph, nature is wondelfull!

Thank you for your comment!

Lovely birds, great photography @rwedegis thanks for sharing birds we don't see.

Thank you for your comments!

I don't know about the damage but they are surely beautiful.

Thank you for your comments!

What vibrant birds. The cranes located in Canada are typically blue and white but hardly as vibrant. Well done.

Thank you for your comments!

Haven't seen these cranes in the flesh. They look extremely colourful .. Nice pic and I hope you can also post some full length pictures too sometime!

Thank you for your comments. They are really interesting to see. I took a lot of photos of these two. Keep checking I'm sure I'll be posting more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.78
ETH 3089.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48