Capybara

Capybara

Capybara.jpg

Click the above photo to enlarge

The capybara is the world's largest rodent. They are about the size of a St. Bernard dog. They are highly social animals and are usually found in groups of 10-20. Capybaras are native to South America. I took this photo at the Brevard Zoo in Viera, Florida.

Category animalphotography
Settings f/5.6 1/250 sec 300.0 mm ISO 3200
Camera Canon 60D
Lens Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Location Viera, Florida

This is my entry in #animalphotography by @juliank and @photocontests daily photography contest.

Check out my How to click to enlarge your photo tutorial

All photos, images and text in my posts are my original work.

Please visit my galleries on the following sites:
Society6
Fine Art America

Follow me on Facebook

Enjoy!

Roger

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

asapers 2.png
Banner by @shai-hulud

Sort:  

I lived in S. America for about 2 and 1/2 years back in the late nineties. I was in Guyana and Suriname. While in Suriname, we were business partners with a gentleman who, among many many other things, had a "wild game" restaurant.

So we would dine there on a regular basis. One night in particular, he was over-the-moon excited about the nightly special that he kept adamantly referring to as "rabbit". Well, I adore rabbit so I ate until I couldn't see straight.

A few weeks later we are deep in the jungle when some of the "rabbits" starting running across of trail in front of us. He started screaming at me, "rabbit, rabbit" and I went green around the gills...lol I had never seen a capybara and to me they looked like giant sewer rats! Needless to say I ate them many more times while down there(you would be surprised what you will eat when you are stuck in the jungle and hungry!)

That's a great story @papacrusher! Do they taste like rabbit?

They actually do!

Did not realize that they are that big (thank goodness you have given a good descriptive example that I can relate to) @rwedegis

They look interesting, nice photography of him sitting there looking untroubled by the world around.

Visiting from @steemitbloggers

Thank you for your comments! Yes, this one was well cared for in the zoo.

size of a St. Bernard dog

I'm shocked by the size of a capybara...Thanks for the photo!

Thank you for your comments! They are pretty big for rodents!

It looks like the animals is posing for the picture :)

Thank you for your comments!

I saw capybaru only in the zoo. A beautiful animal, but I would not keep it at home))

Yes, this one was at the zoo too!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-11T14:12:42
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2917.16/3200.00
Total Photos: 247
Total comments: 81
Total contest wins: 26
And have also received a 2.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I haven't seen it before!)) Thanks for sharing!
#steemitbloggers

Thank you for your comments!

Wow. I hadn't known this animal existed!!

Thank you for visiting!

OMG, it's a real life R.O.U.S.! What's a R.O.U.S., you might ask? Could it be...


via GIPHY

At any rate, it's an amazing capture, Roger!

And it tastes like rabbit! LOL! Thank you for your comments Traci!

LOL! And you're very welcome!

Great photo, he looks angry in it :D Cute angry, like he is saying "Human, leave me alone" :)

Thank you for your comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72