Critters from other Countries

in #animalphotography7 years ago

Hello community. Don't you like seeing things you've never seen before in real life?
That's one of my favorite parts about exploring and visiting other countries, especially when it comes to wildlife. I visited a small rural village in Mexico in December and I was very excited to start turning over stones and drawing the different arthropods I saw. However, I think I got dehydrated when I arrived and I was stuck in bed for most of my short trip. I will return possibly in May or April when my dad retires; we're going to build a house over there! Here are some pictures from the last time I visited though. I hope to return and continue my observations again soon.

IMG_20160209_100827.jpg
I live in Illinois so reptiles aren't a common sight for me, aside from the occasional small snakes I see in the forest. I think I saw some sort of small lizards or skinks in an Indiana beach I went to but all I would see was sand get thrown up as they would dash back into the tall grass. The lizard pictured was very fast as well. The only way I was able to catch it was because I found it still hiding behind a mirror on the brick wall. It was morning and the lizard was still cold and did not have the energy it would normally get from basking in the sun yet, so I was able to grab it. They are not visible in the picture, but there were tiny red mites present in the crevices of the scales on the tail and toes. I imagine it is normal for some of these parasites to be present on some lizards. After observing it closely I released it.

black widow.jpg

This is a black widow spider (from the genus Latrodectus). I apologize for not being able to get a picture of its classic hourglass marking in the underside but you can see the markings of the same color on the dorsal side. I tried to disturb it as little as possible as the venom of these spiders is very painful, causing muscle pain and spasms along with abdominal cramps. Anti-venom is produced mainly to deal with the pain, which can last 3-7 days. Most fatal bites are associated with the Mediterranean black widow spider. The webbing of black widows is noticeable stronger than the web of most common spiders; they have some of the strongest web among spiders. This specimen appears to be swollen with eggs.
As a bonus I'm including this picture I drew of what I discovered to be a Brown Widow Spider (Latrodectus geometricus).
IMG_20180208_135226.jpg
A much smaller spider than its cousin the black widow, being only 8mm from the fangs at the front of its head to the silk-producing spinnerets on the tip of the abdomen. Speaking of its fangs, its bites are still painful but much less so than its larger cousin. Brown widows have a less powerful venom and also deliver much less venom in each bite. What's interesting about this spider is that it also has an orange hourglass on the ventral side of its abdomen.

IMG__20160234__105140.jpg

I was never able to identify this small scorpion. It was about 1.5 cm long with the tail curled up. Although tiny, this scorpion is almost definitely poisonous since it has very small pincers, which are actually modified mouth parts and not legs. Small pincers indicate a reliance on the venom in the stinger to subdue prey, while much larger species have powerful pincers that they rely on as opposed to their relatively weak venom. I was unable to successfully feed these scorpions in captivity and was advised not to release them due to their danger so I'll tell you what happened to it along with the next few pictures.

Another bonus arachnid from a different journal I used during a different trip to Mexico!
IMG_20180208_143648[1].jpg

This scorpion also had modest pincers, indicating it is probably venomous. I was advised to destroy it even though I very much wanted to set this magnificent creature free, however i had found it in my uncle's yard and I would feel terrible if I were to release it and then hear of a child getting stung by one. So I euthanized it. Venomous creatures are a big deal in Mexico. It is important to make your bed every day in order to ensure no bugs have come to nest in the creases and folds of the blanket and shoes/ slippers are shaken to check if any unwanted critters went in to hide in the residual heat. scorpions are a very real fear down here.

I hope you can tell how large this spider is.
IMG__20160233__011622.jpg
These are very common. I liked feeding them flies (which are very annoying) that I would swat but that would survive. These spiders are so sensitive to movement that everytime I dropped a fly into the cup it would seem as if I dropped the fly straight into the spider's arms and mouth. It also subdued, ate, and survived a fight with the first tiny scorpion I pictured. I figured if this creature had to die, I should let it be part of the circle of life. These spiders don't seem all that dangerous, but I still wouldn't handle any live ones. I even fed them to my baby chicks.

IMG__20160233__011219.jpg
You wouldn't believe the diversity of cockroaches I have seen just in the back yard, mainly under potted plants and bricks laying in the soil. There are many similar wingless varieties like the one pictured, with some being all black, gold and speckled brown and one I saw that was all black with faint brown speckles. It's amazing how much diversity there is and makes you wonder how many undiscovered species are still out there.
I hope you liked seeing a bit of the exotic creatures I encounter in Mexico. I hail from the state of Michoacan, where the monarch butterflies migrate to and gather (I have not seen it yet but I hope to someday). A very beautiful state worthy of a visit. Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

i appreciate your work friend!

Now my steem blog could change both your life, world and and how you look at the world in a positive way, please follow me, read my blog and comment if you want me to continue my blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60936.63
ETH 2387.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61