Birds and bugs at (and near) the drowned forest.

in #animalphotography6 years ago

1010764.jpg

Today I spent the day with my girls at a lake beach of a lake connected to the Lek river close to my hometown. I took my camera to take some pictures of my girls, but both at the lake and later on our way home there were quite a few opportunities to practice animal photography.

1010736.jpg

It started out a bit disappointing. This dragonfly was dancing with its partner over the lake surface, but they were just to quick and to agile for my still limited photography skills. I would have loved to capture the two of them in flight, but unfortunately, this is the only picture I managed to get off one of them.

1010725.jpg
But then these little fish came and changed things. Again very hard to photograph through the glintering surface of the water, especialy given their camouflage. If it wasn't for their outspoken shadow on this sunny day, I probably wouldn't even have spotted them. The little fish attracted a common tern.

1010738.jpg

1010739.jpg

1010741.jpg

1010742.jpg

On our way back, on our bicicles, we came through a little park named The drowned forest.

1010756.jpg

One of my doughters was a bit tired cycling, so we paused at the park for a bit, and I had a few more opportunities to make some animal photos.

1010783.jpg

1010759.jpg

The first bird I spotted was this coot with its, rather homley, chick.

1010762.jpg

Then a plain duck and, to my surprise, a dragonfly that I hadn't even spotted when I took the picture.

1010764.jpg

Then this haron landed. I tried to see where it landed but wasn't able to spot it again. Then I thought I spotted an other haron up above.

1010768.jpg

But to my surprise, it turned out not to be a haron at all.

1010769.jpg

A white stork. While herons are very comon where I live, white storks arent exactly every day sightings, so I was happy that using the zoom of my camera I at least got a semi-decent picture of it.

The last two photos I took were a bit closer to the ground again and a bit closer. A little pond scater.

1010765.jpg

And finaly this bee

1010785.jpg

Today really tought me that I should take my camera with me more often. I wasn't planing on doing any animal photography today. I just took my camera to make pictures of my girls. Eventhough I didn't take my monopod, something I would have done if I had set out to photograph birds, I think most of these above pictures turned out quite decent.

Sort:  

Nice place. .)

Some nice shots, looks like someone had a nice fishing day, a duck admiring its reflections, with a dragonfly wondering what the duck is looking at, and a tired heron coming in for a rest. I think you and your girls had a nice outing.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-20T22:17:51
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 32.50/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91